Xbox Year In Review 2019

We see how Microsoft did in 2019 by breaking down all of the major game releases and moments for Xbox. From Gears 5 and Crackdown 3, to the acquisition of new developers and the success of Game Pass.

As 2019 comes to a close, GameSpot is looking back on the year that was. As usual, that includes coming up with a game of the year, but before that, we’re looking at what Microsoft, Sony, Nintendo, and the PC industry have done in 2019. First up is Microsoft.

In the video above, Jake Dekker, Peter Brown, and Jordan Ramée talk about Microsoft and the Xbox One family of consoles. The crux of the conversation focuses on Xbox Game Pass, Microsoft’s console and PC service that allows subscribers to download a library of titles for a fraction of their total retail price. Game Pass is the best feature the Xbox One has going for it in the ongoing console war–the PS4 and Switch have nothing like it–and, this year, the subscription service let you download several stellar titles the day they launched, such as Gears 5 and The Outer Worlds, and promoted smaller indie games like Outer Wilds and Afterparty.

The trio are also intrigued by what Microsoft did with Project xCloud in 2019 and excited to see that all those studio acquisitions in 2018 are leading to a wide variety of first-party titles for Xbox One in 2020. Microsoft’s continued support of accessibility in games is nice to see too, and Xbox One now has one of the nicest controllers out there with the Elite Series 2. Overall it was a good year for Microsoft–the best it’s had in a very long time–and it left the group feeling optimistic about what is planned for Xbox One and Project Scarlett in 2020.

For more of GameSpot’s end-of-the-year content, check out our report card for Sony / PlayStation 4. We have two more report cards scheduled too: PC and Nintendo / Switch.

50 Comments

  1. Ducksauce on April 16, 2020 at 5:36 pm

    The Bone is the first Xbox I had no interest in mainly because their pispoor lineup of exclusives. After five years it still has less than 5 decents games and in my eyes it will go down in history as the worst library for a successful console release in the history of gaming. I already have a gaming pc so the entire Xbox brand is superfluous at this point and I have no faith the Scarlett is going to change their pathetic dryspill.

  2. Jonathan L on April 16, 2020 at 5:38 pm

    Ps4 ppl still playing god of war and spiderman

  3. Ben Pulham on April 16, 2020 at 5:42 pm

    Get on your horses, the ponies are coming…

  4. Nicholas Barreto on April 16, 2020 at 5:42 pm

    Xbox is finishing strong and is setting up to be the best console next gen. Game Pass alone is a game changer which no other platform can compete with. The future looks bright and I’m happy I stuck with Xbox.

  5. Ben Francis on April 16, 2020 at 5:42 pm

    Love playing pubg against PlayStation players. Not the game crashing so much 🤬

  6. Gaming With Ryan on April 16, 2020 at 5:42 pm

    Where are the phil spencer dickriders markus chief and mr glass

  7. Glorious Kev on April 16, 2020 at 5:43 pm

    Not sure how you can make an 11 minute video about a console with no exclusives. Buying studios and game pass are the highlights of Xbox 2019 end.

  8. Tom K on April 16, 2020 at 5:46 pm

    Xbox needs to make some exclusives next year so i can play it on my PC using my PlayStation controller. LOL

  9. ChriZ Hawk on April 16, 2020 at 5:47 pm

    Microsoft Xbox has, atleast for me, one major important component that Sony does not. Backwards Comp.

  10. Lee Ferguson on April 16, 2020 at 5:49 pm

    Gamepass is fantastic. Everything else with Xbox is disappointing

  11. Isaac Villarreal on April 16, 2020 at 5:51 pm

    they were done talking about games about 4 minutes into the video then the rest is just services & stuff, speaks volumes

  12. MegaPlayDoe on April 16, 2020 at 5:52 pm

    PlayStation is already light years ahead of Xbox with the exclusive games it has but I would like to see Xbox give them some competition to push PlayStation even further to be the very best they can be 😂 it’s looking mighty slow for Xbox that’s all I can say

  13. Triforce Hero on April 16, 2020 at 5:54 pm

    Xbox has been nothing but low for about 4 years now lmao

  14. WeeWeeJumbo on April 16, 2020 at 5:55 pm

    I get it–if you don’t want death threats from Xbox guys, you have to pretend Xbox was also good, in its own, uh, Microsoft kinda way

  15. Y K on April 16, 2020 at 5:56 pm

    I’ll never forgive Xbox after its atrocious 2013 reveal. The company showed their true intentions for gaming and it’s extremely anti-consumer. Never again and I was a 360 fanboy.

  16. Austin Theng on April 16, 2020 at 5:58 pm

    What’s there to review for xbox? Lmao!! There’s nothing new! Hahaha

  17. PHXNTXM on April 16, 2020 at 6:04 pm

    *Xbox 2019 Highs:*
    – Xbox Game Pass
    – xCloud
    – More Studio Acquisitions
    – More Game Developer Support
    – Project Scarlett Announcement

    *Xbox 2019 Lows:*
    – E3 2019
    – Inside Xbox
    – XO19
    – 1st Party Exclusives (as per usual)

    I’m hoping that Microsoft doesn’t disappoint in 2020, and that they set up the launch of Scarlett successfully.

  18. EJS on April 16, 2020 at 6:05 pm

    Xbox NOT getting Death Stranding is the best thing to happen to that console…to any console. That game is just so bad lmao It deserves the bad reviews.

  19. Brantley Thompson on April 16, 2020 at 6:05 pm

    Highlights: You must be blind, stupid, or both to be buying Stadia over Xbox Game Pass Ultimate w/ XCloud.

  20. Ahmad El-Hindi on April 16, 2020 at 6:05 pm

    Exclusives lineup is behind ps4 but everything else is better
    But I care more about games themselves than offers
    I still stick with ps4 this year

  21. OMGCrispyBacon on April 16, 2020 at 6:07 pm

    I think xbox has had a stellar year. As you say it’s ground work but my god the foundations are set for Xbox Series X.

  22. Potato on April 16, 2020 at 6:10 pm

    2019 review:
    Xbox – Gears 5, Crackdown 3 and Game pass i guess.

    Ps4 – Judgment, Death stranding, concrete genie, days gone, catherine: full body, The legend of heroes: Trails of the cold steel III, blood and truth, Medievil remake, Erica, Yakuza 4 remastered, mlb the show 19, Golem, and the dreams early access.

  23. D.O.C. on April 16, 2020 at 6:11 pm

    Studio Acquisitions and Gamepass

  24. WeeWeeJumbo on April 16, 2020 at 6:12 pm

    C’mon, guys. It was a total shit-show, just like practically every year since 2010

  25. PunkRockZombie205 on April 16, 2020 at 6:13 pm

    I’ll be honest, I just clicked on this for the lolz

  26. Gaming With Ryan on April 16, 2020 at 6:13 pm

    So the next year xbox will have ori, flight simulator, bleeding edge, halo infinite and forza motorsport 8, yay?…..

  27. William McLelland on April 16, 2020 at 6:15 pm

    Xbox is going to be great again gamepass xcloud and scarlett

  28. Wardo Melena on April 16, 2020 at 6:15 pm

    I start to use xbox one again because of game pass

  29. Christian A on April 16, 2020 at 6:16 pm

    Can’t see myself choosing a console because the head of the division seems like a cool guy.

  30. ChriZ Hawk on April 16, 2020 at 6:16 pm

    5:54 Organic Experiences? 😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂 Ohh so you sucked his D?

  31. Seraphita Raziel on April 16, 2020 at 6:18 pm

    Another laughable year for Xbox.

  32. Paradox Acres on April 16, 2020 at 6:19 pm

    *(sigh)* Microsoft acquiring all those *independent studios* is not a good thing for the Games Industry, guys.

    Because we need more indie studios to create fresh new games 😢

  33. Omar Baig on April 16, 2020 at 6:20 pm

    Literally had more exclusives come out this year than PlayStation 4 and they scored higher. You can feel the Sony bias

  34. Ghosting You on April 16, 2020 at 6:20 pm

    Xbox year in review=no new AAA exclusive games for an entire generation lol! Xbox=the Nintendo copycats now, refusing to compete with Sony and Sony’s Photorealistic games! Xbox would rather take the easy road, making cell shaded cartoon like games for lame pass! 😆😆😆😆

  35. Kevin Connor on April 16, 2020 at 6:20 pm

    The xbox one elite 2 controller looks really nice

  36. Ruric on April 16, 2020 at 6:20 pm

    2019 was clearly Nintendo’s year with games like, FE 3 houses, MM2, LM3, Astral Chain, DQ11S, Link’s Awakening, Pokemon, Marvel UA 3, etc.
    But I had a great time with my xbox1x with games like, Gears 5, Control, RE2, DMC5, etc.

  37. Wide Horizons on April 16, 2020 at 6:22 pm

    No games

  38. xTRUxGxBEBEx on April 16, 2020 at 6:25 pm

    I sold my XBox1X to get better games on the Nintendo switch and ps4 sorry xbox hope you step up next year

  39. Axle1324 on April 16, 2020 at 6:26 pm

    Geez…after 11 minutes of positive comments for this or that… they are still very doubtful about Xbox.

  40. Myballsbaby on April 16, 2020 at 6:26 pm

    Xbox did not have a answer for God of war or Spider-Man. Just those two games alone blew them out.

  41. Gaming With Ryan on April 16, 2020 at 6:27 pm

    This was the year that i gave up on xbox as a console, i will still use gamepass and the odd exclusive on pc but buying a ps4 pro was the best decision i made, fantastic exclusives that arent just 3 milked franchises, obviously deluded xbox fans like mr glass and markus chief arent capable of listening to reason

  42. Self Help Group on April 16, 2020 at 6:28 pm

    Why not use handheld mics instead of being pinned to the seat by those mic stands?

  43. Andres Castaño on April 16, 2020 at 6:28 pm

    Everyday is Black Friday with Game Pass.

  44. Gab Inidal on April 16, 2020 at 6:29 pm

    LoL

  45. pako 9340 on April 16, 2020 at 6:29 pm

    Pongan los vergas subtítulos

  46. Shadows Exile on April 16, 2020 at 6:30 pm

    Xbox going the way of sega tbh

  47. Robofish 87 on April 16, 2020 at 6:31 pm

    Xbox had a better year than ps4 imo. I own and play both before the hordes come at me.

  48. ~A(o)S~ on April 16, 2020 at 6:34 pm

    Another year failure for crap box

  49. KnightSlash17 on April 16, 2020 at 6:34 pm

    Forgettable Bland 0 significant anything

  50. U Knighted on April 16, 2020 at 6:35 pm

    With game pass and the one x, Xbox is doing a hell of a lot better than when they started for sure

Leave a Comment