The best-looking convertible PC you can buy [Dell XPS 13 2-in-1 Review]

Blue and Black Friday: iFixit’s Blue and Black Friday sale is back! Visit https://phon.es/wcifixit to get $10 off $50 and score iFixit tools for the lowest prices of the year! Sale ends Dec 2nd.
(Sponsored Message)

The Dell XPS 13 2-in-1 (7390) is now one of the best convertibles and just all-around most beautiful laptops around. But the market has competition revealing a few holes in Dell’s game. After a few weeks with the XPS 13 2-in-1 (7390), here is what I think.

Our Full Review:
https://www.windowscentral.com/dell-xps-13-2-1-9370-review

Subscribe to our Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/windowscentral?sub_confirmation=1

Follow us on social media:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WindowsPhoneCentral
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/windowscentral
Twitter: https://twitter.com/windowscentral

May contain affiliate links. See Mobile Nations’ disclosure policy for more details: https://www.mobilenations.com/external-links

50 Comments

  1. Roman on December 9, 2019 at 12:49 am

    The 4K display enforces 250% windows scaling which creates a lot of troubles once you connect to an external 4K 27" display which needs 150-200% scaling. Win32 programm windows cannot adjust to different scaling on the fly.

  2. zakius on December 9, 2019 at 12:50 am

    tent is NOT a tablet, it’s much worse

  3. Stinkytofu on December 9, 2019 at 12:52 am

    Almost all ultra books are this way for years now i’m not sure why some people are still acting all surprise. For such a beautiful, light and thin you have to give up something because no laptop is perfect. If you want an upgradable laptop there are plenty of alternatives and the best part is that they’re most likely going to be cheaper. I mean come on, how old are you guys anyway…sigh….

  4. palashholkar on December 9, 2019 at 12:53 am

    keyboard is the deal breaker for me.

  5. Thamindu kavinda on December 9, 2019 at 12:55 am

    can you do dell inspiron 13 7000 series 2-in-1 2019. please

  6. Juan Cabrera on December 9, 2019 at 12:55 am

    I tried this laptop at Costco and the Keyboard was a deal breaker for me 😕

  7. Francesco Varrato on December 9, 2019 at 12:56 am

    1.32 kg? My 5 years old Lenovo X1 Carbon 3rd Gen weighs less

  8. Muh Khaidir Sakti Jenar on December 9, 2019 at 12:57 am

    Good products poor marketing

  9. moumen sawady on December 9, 2019 at 12:58 am

    Dan! you were created to review laptops. good job, give us more.

  10. Sub2pewdiepie on December 9, 2019 at 1:00 am

    mate, can i have the link to the wallpaper on the thumbnail?

  11. Steven Wang Thwe on December 9, 2019 at 1:06 am

    A train trip to New York is your battery benchmark??? Why not do an actual battery rundown test… This part of the review is so lazy, how are viewers meant to get comparable data for different laptops when this kind of testing is so subjective and random

  12. Jaroslav Záruba on December 9, 2019 at 1:07 am

    No AMD? No business.

  13. Mike Kelly on December 9, 2019 at 1:07 am

    Great review overall, but Inaccurate reporting regarding the keyboard & comparing it to a MacBook’s – "Not as shallow as a new MacBook, and these won’t break like a new MacBook’s either". When you say "*new* MacBook", I assume you mean the 16" MacBook Pro. Its new keyboard has just under 1.0mm of key travel, whereas the Dell XPS 13 7390 2-in-1 has 0.7mm. So the *new* MacBook actually has greater key travel… and it also doesn’t use the much-maligned butterfly switches either.

    This is more accurate: The XPS 13 2-in-1 has better key travel and reliability than the *older* butterfly-keyboard MacBooks (MacBook Air included).

    Note: not an Apple apologist – I’ve actually got the exact XPS model reviewed here on-order and I’m looking forward to it. I just appreciate accurate reporting 😉

  14. Tigerex966 on December 9, 2019 at 1:08 am

    I dont know the all metal lenova yoga is also a thing of beauty 4k pen 10th gen, and that keyboard.

  15. Frank Feng on December 9, 2019 at 1:09 am

    Any common Dell XPS issues found in this laptop such as coil whine, faulty sleep mode.

  16. Mark Davenport on December 9, 2019 at 1:13 am

    Should probably specify — since this video came out after: The MacBook Pro 16" keyboard has 1mm travel and will not break. Apple’s 13" MacBooks (Air and Pro) still have butterfly switches and will still fail. I guess it’s fair to diss them, since this Dell laptop is closer in size to the 13" MacBooks. But you know what the MacBooks do not come with? 4 GB RAM. What the Dell, hell?
    And Daniel… is that a ceramic Apple Watch? Wow. That looks fantastic on you!

  17. shephrd on December 9, 2019 at 1:13 am

    "…[keyboard] not as shallow as a Macbook and these won’t break like a Macbook…"
    Does he know about the new 16-inch Macbook Pro or was this review recorded before its release?

  18. Poetic Voyage on December 9, 2019 at 1:15 am

    Please review the Lenovo c940. 👍

  19. Nicolás Parada on December 9, 2019 at 1:17 am

    I got this laptop and it bricked itself 🙁
    And now I cannot find a place where to buy it with international shipping (I just got lucky the first days).

  20. Álvaro A. Lorite on December 9, 2019 at 1:17 am

    Lenovo Yoga c940 looks way better IMO

  21. Wy Yi on December 9, 2019 at 1:17 am

    Glad you guys came back! I wonder where is the difference between this and similarily spec’ed inspiron 7490. I hope to hear a review of 7490 from you =D

  22. Jish on December 9, 2019 at 1:19 am

    The 15 inch 2 in 1 is not coming? He said that quarter way through the video

  23. Andrea Sammut on December 9, 2019 at 1:20 am

    Are you going to review the C940?

  24. Erin Byrd on December 9, 2019 at 1:22 am

    Are we going to be getting a full review on the new hp spectre x360 13?

  25. Speedbird on December 9, 2019 at 1:22 am

    Returned two after coil whine audible across a room

  26. Leyo Fernando on December 9, 2019 at 1:22 am

    I love the XPS 13 2-in-1,espeicially with it’s narrow bezels and 10th gen Ice Lake CPUs which come with the improved graphics. I wish the regular XPS 13 had them.

  27. Jeff McCartney on December 9, 2019 at 1:23 am

    So I just bought an asus scar 2 with a gtx 2070. For less, granted it was on sale. but still. Trading a gpu for a convertible stylus laptop. The pricing seems way off. This should be around $600-$800

  28. Windows Central on December 9, 2019 at 1:23 am

    Blue and Black Friday: iFixit’s Blue and Black Friday sale is back! Visit https://phon.es/wcifixit to get $10 off $50 and score iFixit tools for the lowest prices of the year! Sale ends Dec 2nd.
    (Sponsored Message)

  29. DarkPa1adin on December 9, 2019 at 1:25 am

    Please comment on portrait use for 2in1s 🙂 like how is the experience handheld,

  30. Harsha Vardhan Sahoo on December 9, 2019 at 1:29 am

    Better go with the Samsung GalaxyBook Flex…

  31. DarkPa1adin on December 9, 2019 at 1:30 am

    Is the 65w charger as small as the 40+W?

  32. JCshizle on December 9, 2019 at 1:31 am

    watching this on the xps 13 2 in 1. Costco’s black friday deal for 1300 was too good to pass up :3

  33. Jesse Mitchell on December 9, 2019 at 1:32 am

    Why do people constantly moan about the webcams/selfie cams on devices as if you dont have one on every device you own. I could go without them entirely if it meant the bezels were nice

  34. Martin on December 9, 2019 at 1:33 am

    I’m sick and tired of Dell offering 4GB as the base RAM for many of their higher-end laptops. They finally ditched the 128GB SSD, but this RAM shit needs to go, too. Until then, HP’s Spectre line and Microsoft’s Surface Laptop will always outshine Dell in terms of value.

  35. carbon on December 9, 2019 at 1:33 am

    It gives me Pixelbook vibes. In a year or two this one would be great to pick up at cheap.

  36. israel ramirez on December 9, 2019 at 1:36 am

    I wonder how the Gen 2 maglev keyboards compare to the ones on the Surface lineup.

  37. Corgi Kun on December 9, 2019 at 1:38 am

    Hardware Canucks did a review on this laptop and they destroyed it.
    I decided on a MacBook Pro 13 not only because of that review but because in my country Dell doesnt offer the 4K display I need for editorial design for print

  38. Vaggelis Basoukas on December 9, 2019 at 1:38 am

    13.3 inches ?? CRAP AF !!!!!

  39. Santiago Canon on December 9, 2019 at 1:41 am

    You mentioned you wouldn’t recommend the 4k but you didn’t mention why. Can you let us know please ? Also , is there LTE?

  40. neun malelf on December 9, 2019 at 1:41 am

    Having used every portable notebook/laptop thingy since the KAYPRO II, I don’t get why people are so obsessed with built in LTE. It drains your battery faster, can’t (often) be disabled to save battery when you don’t need it. I carry a thin LTE modem with me, which also is my Internet Access HUB when not at home for every other devices. It’s thinner than my mint box, runs 6 hrs on a battery charge when we have multiple devices connected to it. A spare Battery is less than 5,- so you can carry multiple with you and don’t break your budget. I don’t have to drain my Smartphone battery using it as a mobile access point. And if I upgrade to a better performance plan / faster LTE technology, all I need to do is switch the modem and every other device still works. Oh, and its also my micro storage server using a micro SD Card. It’s not fast enough for video editing. But it does a nice job for carrying around tens of thousands of PDF, e-books, sound files and pictures.

  41. J B on December 9, 2019 at 1:41 am

    Mine came with the active pen, shipped to Australia.

  42. Daryl Nauman on December 9, 2019 at 1:41 am

    I bought this 2 in 1 a few days ago and can’t wait for it to arrive. Thanks for the review.

  43. Ethan Cowan on December 9, 2019 at 1:42 am

    Can u review the Lenovo yoga c940

  44. JBC on December 9, 2019 at 1:42 am

    XPS 13 vs. Surface Laptop 3 vs. Spectre X360 decision problem of the year for myself.

  45. h34p on December 9, 2019 at 1:42 am

    fantastic Machine…. but let´s be serious.. we all know that speakers really are important, cause we all watch youtube and .. that other stuff in the night.
    and those speakers are crap…

  46. Veeral Dogra on December 9, 2019 at 1:42 am

    Why do manufacturers still put these Intel Inside and Windows stickers?

  47. Tigerex966 on December 9, 2019 at 1:43 am

    bad move with the sodered memory and storage.
    instant no buy award from me.

  48. Soumya Ranjan Mahunt on December 9, 2019 at 1:44 am

    I wish laptop makers start implementing pop up cameras.

  49. Francesco Varrato on December 9, 2019 at 1:45 am

    Still waiting for a full comparison with the HP Elite Dragonfly 🙂

  50. RAKIB on December 9, 2019 at 1:45 am

    Was interested till I heard about the soldered storage. THATS A NOPE for me

Leave a Comment