Sega Genesis Model 2 Review

In this video I review the Sega Genesis 2, the second generation Genesis which was also known in some places as the Mega Drive. The Sega Genesis Model 2 features a much smaller and more streamlined design in exchange for removing a few of the lesser used ports. The Genesis 2 still fully supports both the Sega 32X as well as the Sega CD and is one of the best ways today to get into Genesis gaming.

50 Comments

  1. VaughnJogVlog on May 6, 2021 at 12:44 am

    2 million subscribers, 135 thumbs up. ๐Ÿค”

  2. daminmancejin on May 6, 2021 at 12:45 am

    Sega genesis forever ^_^

  3. marc dewon on May 6, 2021 at 12:46 am

    Long live SEGA!!

  4. ravagingwolverine on May 6, 2021 at 12:46 am

    MK-1451 makes it one of the Majesco model 2s I think. I’ve never seen the box. Is there anything different or interesting about the box or does it just look normal?

  5. Wolfman099plays on May 6, 2021 at 12:49 am

    Jesus that hair do!

  6. FunSilly on May 6, 2021 at 12:49 am

    oh, look so young

  7. TNVGAMING on May 6, 2021 at 12:50 am

    The one I bought was labeled as: the core system. So there were no game cartridges. And on the barcode it says MK-1451. But it’s small, and you really have to look for them. While they may have been manufactured by majesto, they are the best model 2s to buy, and look identical to the ones manufactured by SEGA, with the exception of the Model No., and the 3/4 motherboard shown underneath.

  8. Nicefisher on May 6, 2021 at 12:52 am

    Why was this Austin evans

  9. Max Payne fan on May 6, 2021 at 12:52 am

    My cousin used to have this Genesis back in the 90s and I used to have it (it’s actually theirs). I didn’t get the model 2 Genesis again until 2010 when I got it from the Berryessa Flea Market in San Jose, CA. I like this model better than the model 3. Even though I like it, I like the model 1 Genesis more better.

  10. piercedliquidnipples on May 6, 2021 at 12:53 am

    really nice vid! You shold do more of these retroreviews with your new setup, it would be great. btw awesome channel

  11. ricky longshaw on May 6, 2021 at 12:53 am

    i just picked up one of these complete with two controllers at a thrift shop for $5 love it

  12. Kandem-Yee on May 6, 2021 at 12:55 am

    Wow, never thought that Austin reviewed this gem, i still have mine since 94. So many great memories.

  13. Blazer Fan on May 6, 2021 at 12:56 am

    i have the model 2 genesis, it’s a great system and is a blast to play, the games i have sonic the hedgehog 1, 2, 3, and spinball, 10 more games are on my list and i will be ordering them this weekend

  14. zpushy633 Sora on May 6, 2021 at 12:59 am

    I Prefer the Model 1 over the Model 2 because it’s Larger, it has a better looking Design, and it looks more Retro (Than the Model 2) because it’s from 1989-1990 the thing is I picked up a Sega Genesis (Model 1) for $40 on OfferUp Recently along with Tiny Toon Adventures and Toy Story like Oh My God I love it I got Attached to another Console I’ve owned it for 5 Days, I’ve been playing it, and I’m Already having that Retro feeling from the 90’s (Even though I was Born in 1998) it’s the Best feeling I’ve ever had

  15. TargetRender on May 6, 2021 at 12:59 am

    Wow, classic Austin.

  16. PH CLANK on May 6, 2021 at 1:01 am

    I grew up with the Atari 2600 and Mega Drive, the Mega Drive being my favorite console of all time! I played countless hours on it as a kid!! miss the 90s!!

  17. zpushy633 Sora on May 6, 2021 at 1:02 am

    My Older Sister still owns her Original Sega Genesis (Model 2) from when she was Little and I got to play it TWICE back in 2016 she still owns her Genesis Games from her Childhood

  18. zachary hammersmith on May 6, 2021 at 1:02 am

    I just bought one today at a retro game store for $30. It was the same store where I bought my nes too which was $60. They were selling a Dreamcast for $20 plus controllers. Is that a good deal anybody?

  19. John Moore on May 6, 2021 at 1:02 am

    I have the original PAL model

  20. Synystershy on May 6, 2021 at 1:03 am

    I prefer the Model 1 because it has stereo

  21. WRG Blackheart on May 6, 2021 at 1:03 am

    where can I get the original sega Genesis?

  22. PentiumMMX on May 6, 2021 at 1:06 am

    i see a lot of model 2 genesis consoles on ebay for decent prices

  23. Mid Nite on May 6, 2021 at 1:07 am

    ะัƒ ั‚ัƒะฟั‹ั‹ั‹ั‹ั‹ั‹ั‹ะต! )))))))

  24. johneygd on May 6, 2021 at 1:09 am

    The sega genesis is very similar to the GBA for many reasons because, 1 it has a Z80 chip for compatibility with itโ€™s previous older games, 2 it can also play psg sound, 3 it can play 8bit pcm,albeit only in mono ,4,it can also play 1bit pcm audio whereas the GBA could also play 4bit pcm,5, while the genensis has a true 32bit cpu, the genesis cpu is pseudo :2bit
    6, while the genesis has a link port at the back and link support in controller port 2, the gba has a link port etc,,, in mono,4,it can also play 4bit pcm audio whereas the genesis could also play 1bit pcm,5, while the genesis has a pseudo 32bit cpu, the GBA cpu is a true 32bit cpu
    6, while the GBA has a link port ,the genesis hs a link port at the back and link support in controller port 2, 7(atleast the genesis 1) both the genesis and the GBA do have a headphone jack,etc,,,

  25. Daniel Sosa on May 6, 2021 at 1:11 am

    Is it better than the 1st generation?

  26. Martynas on May 6, 2021 at 1:11 am

    Sega genesis model 1 va6 is a bit better

  27. TNVGAMING on May 6, 2021 at 1:12 am

    I got a Model 2 VA4 revision on eBay for $55 mint in its box. The VA4 is the best revision of the genesis model 2, and some say its better than the model one. I’d have to agree. The model number is MK-1451.

  28. DIEGO 21 on May 6, 2021 at 1:14 am

    Eu tenho o mk 16 31

  29. kian farah on May 6, 2021 at 1:15 am

    2018????

  30. ravagingwolverine on May 6, 2021 at 1:15 am

    I’ve been researching all the Genesis revisions recently. You most definitely have a very good one there. The Majesco association is a good thing in this case as it is easy to identify as a late console. I heard the shell has a slightly different texture as well. I had always wondered if the Majesco model 2 systems came in a unique box or were exactly the same as the older systems. I’m currently expecting a 3/4-board VA3 system which should also be very good. Thanks for replying.

  31. Xbox loverTY on May 6, 2021 at 1:16 am

    S O N I C 3

  32. ThatoneguycodyV 562 on May 6, 2021 at 1:16 am

    I always like the model 2 I have the model 2 that’s all I remember it like as a kid

  33. Hayden-M-Games on May 6, 2021 at 1:20 am

    If you want a Genesis that is small and don’t want to play the add one to save space the Genesis 3 is the way to go

  34. Dam Dam on May 6, 2021 at 1:21 am

    Model 2 had a horrible Sound chip.ย 

    Model 1 had the best sound chip.ย 

    Potato chip

  35. richieb74 on May 6, 2021 at 1:21 am

    My model 2 sucks. It’s all pixilated and if there’s text you can’t even read it. The sound is fine but I can’t get over the how bad the video is. I guess Sega put a cheap video chip in this one. I have the Samsung chip and it’s known to suck hard

  36. EnglishPolishOnline on May 6, 2021 at 1:21 am

    Will PAL games (Mega Drive) work on it? And will original Mega Drive pads work with it? Anyone?:)

  37. Arandomperson14 on May 6, 2021 at 1:24 am

    i had 5 games for this and played them so much that only 2 now work

  38. TNVGAMING on May 6, 2021 at 1:26 am

    Both versions of VA3 are excellent, the only downside to my understanding is that one of the VA3 revisions (there are 2 VA3 3/4’s) is ceceptable to "Ranbow Banding" which in the grand scheme of things isn’t a major issue, and can barely be seen if used ona new HD TV.
    And it’s now problem, I’m currently making a Buyers Guide video for my alternate channel: DesertRatGamers, when I get it uploaded, I’ll send you the video.

  39. Synystershy on May 6, 2021 at 1:28 am

    I have 2 model 1s and one does have high def graphics on it. An i never knew model 2 has stereo, learn something new every day huh

  40. Mane on May 6, 2021 at 1:29 am

    2019, and ive ordered one of these along with a snes

  41. Gio048 on May 6, 2021 at 1:29 am

    ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž

  42. ravagingwolverine on May 6, 2021 at 1:33 am

    Model 2 outputs stereo through the AV port. Many model 2s have audio issues and it’s hard to find the improved ones so the model 1 is a safe bet if it says High-Definition Graphics on it.

  43. Anda0306 on May 6, 2021 at 1:34 am

    when was the model 2 released?

  44. Cooper Kirkpatrick on May 6, 2021 at 1:35 am

    I have this version!

  45. Matt Hybel on May 6, 2021 at 1:37 am

    The model 2 Sega Genesis with a half circuit board is coded as the VA4 the plain out BEST Genesis you can get! Amazing video encoder made by Sony and true Stereo sound.

  46. Leon Cook on May 6, 2021 at 1:38 am

    This the one I had as a kid

  47. supergoomba8 on May 6, 2021 at 1:39 am

    Neato

  48. Radowan Ahmed Baized on May 6, 2021 at 1:40 am

    hey guys this is Duncan

  49. Walter Sobchak on May 6, 2021 at 1:44 am

    Wow did you ever think you would be where you are now Austin?

  50. Davin Reynolds on May 6, 2021 at 1:44 am

    How come you didn’t show the genesis model 2 in your game consoles video

Leave a Comment