(:Review:) Solar USB Battery Bank ~5000mAh~ Weather Resistant

Reviewed Here: https://youtu.be/cgC0qKeI81M

~~Video Details~~
If You’re looking for a nice compact solar battery bank you can take backpacking, this one will do nicely. However, a solar cell of this size is simply not powerful enough to be a full solar charger. It will give you one full charge plus 20-60min of phone power a day. The Weather-Proofness is a bit inadequate but will protect somewhat.

I put it to an honest test and have concluded that it performs well for such a small cell.

Most people don’t fully understand that getting useable power for charging out of a single solar cell is no small task. These cells put out maybe a watt and a half on a good day. I tested by putting in direct sun(angled toward the sun) at a point where the sun would clear an obstruction at exactly the same time every day and hit the panel with full sun. total sun time per day was approx 6hrs. After 4 days, I was up to the second power bar. I was originally unimpressed by this.

Then I began depleting back down to 0 power and the point that it would not turn on and charge anything unless pointed directly at the sun. It took over 3 hrs from the second power level, charging a Samsung Galaxy S5 and an Earson BT Speaker both connected streaming netflix.

I further tested by trying to power a phone that would not turn on with the charger that would not stay on unless pointed directly at the sun. I was actually able to make a phone call.

As Far as the Weather Proofness; it is not. While there are rubber flaps to shed water, they don’t seal completely and there are large holed behind the rubber bumpers. See video for more details.

So the conclusion is: This thing is worth taking on a backpacking trip for light daily or emergency use and works well as a Battery Bank, but is not a full blown solar charger.

~~Follow GadgetClass on the Web~~
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/GadgetClass
Twitter: http://twitter.com/GadgetClass
tumblr: http://GadgetClass.tumblr.com
~GadgetClass ebay Portal: http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?ff3=4&pub=5575088352&toolid=10001&campid=5337651585&customid=&mpre=http://www.ebay.com/rpp/computers-networking

~~Support the Channel~~
+ Subscribe & Hit the Thumbs-Up Button (This Helps the Video Show up in Search Results)
+ Use My amazon and ebay links
+ Throw Some Bills in the Tip Jar. Hit the “Support” Button on the Channel Home Page:
http://www.YouTube.com/user/GadgetClass

50 Comments

  1. greanlantern on December 24, 2019 at 6:10 am

    Extremely helpful, thank you. I thought my charger was defective because I could never get it to charge it to charge back up. turns out I only tried for 2 days. I wish you could charge it with a wall plug. Maybe you can? Did I miss that?

  2. JOHN MICHAEL on December 24, 2019 at 6:12 am

    Can it be used to light at night if i connect it to a flashlight ??????

  3. j lin on December 24, 2019 at 6:12 am

    there under big range of names makers one have eboot run my 1850 ah radio off it eazy
    99% of the time phone not going work in a bad weather cell towers down to
    your just look to cut down push your likes i like eboot it works for my needs

  4. Nezuko Kamado on December 24, 2019 at 6:13 am

    Mine Has 88000Ah
    Input: DC5V=1.0A
    Output1:DC5V=1.0A
    Output2:DC5V=2.1A

  5. andres adames on December 24, 2019 at 6:14 am

    i got the same charger. not worthy, i doesnt work. it is a chinese scam

  6. rilka top on December 24, 2019 at 6:16 am

    you haven’t test your mobile can’t bootup before charging… because bootup drain lots of power, it can prove the truly empty battery …..

  7. METALMAN4Wii on December 24, 2019 at 6:16 am

    $25 now dam inflation!

  8. CHECHE ANDINO on December 24, 2019 at 6:19 am

    i bought my 50000mah but thr camping light didn’T work it is from aliexpress

  9. Carlos Crosetti on December 24, 2019 at 6:20 am

    Hi, looking to your experiment it seems you tested the charger connected to the phone. Have you checked the charger so fully saturate without connected to a device? Or in other words, charge the bank isolated from any output?

  10. TheBober1988 on December 24, 2019 at 6:20 am

    ты кто ????????????????????????????????????????????????7

  11. Chet Gravatt on December 24, 2019 at 6:23 am

    Note: weather resistant NOT weather proof. vast difference between the two. What do you expect for $9.00

  12. Kriiizztal on December 24, 2019 at 6:24 am

    I have one.. been two days on sun and didn’t save the charge or idk. when I check it it had just two flashing light (low charging) and didn’t charge the phone (x1)

  13. Nella Latice on December 24, 2019 at 6:24 am

    I just bought one of these from BigLots! and I’m completely disappointed. Not too much since it was only $15.00. I got it for Hurricane Florence this weekend. Ugh

  14. Zhsl Nsj on December 24, 2019 at 6:26 am

    R

  15. sau bd on December 24, 2019 at 6:26 am

    What happens under cloudy sky? Will it work?

  16. Opesanmi Bamidele Gabriel on December 24, 2019 at 6:27 am

    How can tht faulty point of sola power charger that charger the solar power charge be change

  17. Ferdinand Dipo Satria on December 24, 2019 at 6:28 am

    how long does it takes to get fully charged using a regular smartphone charger?

  18. Spathí Tis Pnévmatos on December 24, 2019 at 6:31 am

    I find it funny in the beginning you’re griping about the loose silicone and how if you were in Pro long rain it would not keep it from getting wet the only reason you would have it on the outside of you it’s for the solar charger and I highly doubt you would have it on the outside if it were raining trying to charge it using the Sun

  19. Roki Lawyouta on December 24, 2019 at 6:33 am

    IF USE LIGHT LIGHT, WHAT CAN USE TO FILL ENERGY POWERBANK

  20. Paul Valentine on December 24, 2019 at 6:33 am

    Fortune cookies are American, you idiot.

  21. Backwoods On Tha Beat on December 24, 2019 at 6:33 am

    Mine turns off every time I try to charge it

  22. byron yorks on December 24, 2019 at 6:34 am

    right off the bat offends our Asian friends lol this guy lmao.

  23. dav4o8 on December 24, 2019 at 6:35 am

    Thank you soooo much for doing the solar test where your phone and solar charger was completely dead!! very very helpful review =)

  24. John Beaver on December 24, 2019 at 6:35 am

    Use something like RTV not super glue

  25. Barb Martin on December 24, 2019 at 6:35 am

    I have a model ES500,,,,,8000mAH,,,,had it on window ledge ALL DAY,,,got two charge lines,,,put onto phone an keeps cutting off,,,,problems do y’all think,,,,,, Meeee do,,, not happy Jan grrrrr paid 20$ ausd,,,,

  26. seattwa on December 24, 2019 at 6:38 am

    So basically, the solar panel is junk. You would think that here in the 21st century somebody could come up with a reliable fast charging portable solar panel!

  27. Mico on December 24, 2019 at 6:39 am

    Just put it in a transparent plastic bag for weatherproofing 😀

  28. Richard Banister on December 24, 2019 at 6:39 am

    Just bought four of these in a promotion for £17 so thought I would take a chance. They had one bar so left them in front of some sunshine for about 3 hours and all four charged to full charge according to the blue lights. I live in UK so sun isn’t particularly strong in Feb so that was quite a surprise. They are very light and not too bulky, about the size of an Iphone. They have two charging ports and they come with a charger to charge them from any USB connection, but I’ve only tried using one port and one device. Charging time is around 3 min for 1% so you will get roughly 20 mins for an hour in the sun, which is pretty good. At the end of the day they only cost me £4 each so actually seem quite a good buy.

  29. drie wiel on December 24, 2019 at 6:40 am

    That’s all I wanted to know. YES you can make a phone call pretty quick and perhaps check email after half an hour or so in the sun. Quite useful therefore.
    I bought a pretty light 2000mAh for 8 Euro and when full, which according to other videos could take 3 days in the sun, it will charge my 7" Android tablet to 60% in about an hour.
    People who find this device junk deserve to be chased by werewolves and zombies while carrying solar panels size football field on their back.

  30. امير شوقي on December 24, 2019 at 6:42 am

    هل يوجد هذا الشاحن في مصر هل يوجد وكيل و هل يوجد رقم تلفوان و السعر مناسب و تكري ارجو الرد و شكرن لوسمحت الرد تركمة عربي و شكرن

  31. Kandi Ranson on December 24, 2019 at 6:43 am

    Where on the globe were you and what date was it when you put the charger in the sun?

    I hear it was around 3PM.

    The location and date are important to let us know how far away from the sun the charger was, as well as how powerful the charging rays of sunshine you had access to.

  32. dawn northrop on December 24, 2019 at 6:44 am

    THank you. I thought mine was broken for solar power.

  33. maximiliani Armoa on December 24, 2019 at 6:46 am

    Maxi

  34. ItsPancakes on December 24, 2019 at 6:47 am

    Hey, How do you charge up the battery pack with solar panels, do you just leave it out in the sun or you have to press a specific button that activates the charging panels?

  35. Dj Efrain El Pawer De Luribay on December 24, 2019 at 6:48 am

    en un mes carga toda la bateria con el sol es una cagada

  36. Sheldon Coley on December 24, 2019 at 6:49 am

    The light on mines is stuck on. .. How do I get it off..? ASAP…!!!

  37. Michael Hardy on December 24, 2019 at 6:51 am

    Quick Charge] OUTXE Savage 24000mAh Rugged Solar Charger Dual Input Type C & Micro USB

  38. Ondrej Žižka on December 24, 2019 at 6:52 am

    Hi. If I chain 6 of these, will it charge the last piece in the chain get charged almost 6 times faster?

  39. CiastekD on December 24, 2019 at 6:54 am

    I fell to the river with this powerbank in my pocket recenlty, and what’s curious after an hour on sun it workes very well.

  40. Simon Maier on December 24, 2019 at 6:54 am

    This solar power banks don’t really charge with solar power. The problem is the solar cells are too small, even when they have a good efficiency they have only 1 watt. If you really want to charge a device with solar power, you need bigger solar cells in the size of a small newspaper.

  41. Francisco Ferreira on December 24, 2019 at 6:55 am

    falando portugues e melhor kk

  42. Frankluv Aka on December 24, 2019 at 6:57 am

    I bought one from Groupon and when I charge it outside, it seems like it doesn’t hold the charge very long at all from the sun. I have to charge mines inside my home. Disappointed in the quality of this charger.

  43. Roki Lawyouta on December 24, 2019 at 6:59 am

    IF USE LIGHT LIGHT, WHAT CAN USE TO FILL ENERGY POWERBANK

  44. Butters on December 24, 2019 at 7:01 am

    Wtfare u doing with it swimming with it morron fuck of . ur review is now voided and is stuiped. The rubber is to keep dirt and grim out not fucking 1000000% resistent ur and fuck iq of 1 go shoot ur self

  45. roy bewley on December 24, 2019 at 7:01 am

    Lying Chinese ebayers left and right, buy a better power bank,. Take it apart and you will see it is NOT 5000mah, more like 1500

  46. Juan Ramírez on December 24, 2019 at 7:02 am

    I got one of those and it worked fine as a battery bank.
    i could never charge it with solar light but for the price i was expecting something like that

  47. Jose Laloz on December 24, 2019 at 7:03 am

    so, it sucks! hahaha

  48. Maria Banderas on December 24, 2019 at 7:05 am

    I love thia video it helped me a lot

  49. Mike Perkins on December 24, 2019 at 7:06 am

    Solar part is a gimmick.

  50. maximiliani Armoa on December 24, 2019 at 7:06 am

    👌

Leave a Comment