New iPad Air (2020) review

The new iPad Air for 2020 borrows all the best design elements from the iPad Pro. It has a bigger screen, smaller bezels, and works with all the Pro accessories. It also has a wicked fast A14 Bionic processor and TouchID on the power button. It’s the best iPad for most people, if you can afford the $599 price.

If you buy something from a Verge link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics policy: http://bit.ly/2TQsqjB

Buy the iPad Air from Apple – https://bit.ly/37nblVe

Read the review on The Verge: https://bit.ly/2HmMW7m

Subscribe: http://goo.gl/G5RXGs
Subscribe to Verge Science: http://bit.ly/2FqJZMl
Community guidelines: http://bit.ly/2D0hlAv
Wallpapers from The Verge: https://bit.ly/2xQXYJr

50 Comments

  1. tubefaze on February 25, 2021 at 9:47 pm

    USB-C all the things!

  2. Omarbixxy Boy on February 25, 2021 at 9:49 pm

    Well it’s $889 dollars in Australia mate

  3. Channel 8 on February 25, 2021 at 9:49 pm

    But the iPad Air has quad speakers though…

  4. Martin Labuschin on February 25, 2021 at 9:52 pm

    Donkey Kong music!

  5. Max battersby on February 25, 2021 at 9:52 pm

    Why they stop giving headphones and change the charging port anything for more money of us😂😂

  6. Amirrul Jasni on February 25, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    The only reason I would buy a tablet

    1. Watching videos
    2. Social media
    3. Some light photo editing for social media
    4. Playing casual games

    Probably the base model of an iPad Air is the optimal choice for me, considering iOS on a tablet is nice. Though I probably won’t get one anyway since I don’t have the luxury to just fork out $600 for just a device for the 4 points I point out.

  7. Tiktokfreeaccount on February 25, 2021 at 9:54 pm

    My mum and dad ordered this for me on Christmas 🥰

  8. chinmaya sahoo on February 25, 2021 at 9:56 pm

    is there any backlight bleeding issue in ipad air 4 ( at 100 % brightness, black image,dark room)as in forum most of the users have been facing this…
    Check forum if you have any doubt and then let me know if u have that in right lower side

  9. raif ranjha on February 25, 2021 at 9:57 pm

    My

    God

  10. Tek Minion on February 25, 2021 at 10:00 pm

    I don’t think that laptops are boring, especially not Apple laptops or Dell. Now I do agree that the iPad is just fun to use. I primarily use my iPad Air for personal use. I use a MBA as my main work device. This rotation of devices for me work, as I need a working desktop for work, and for personal I use need something to knock out emails, watch media, and edit photos. Great video as always.

  11. Alexis Javier on February 25, 2021 at 10:02 pm

    This or tab s7?

  12. Mohamed Ishaq on February 25, 2021 at 10:02 pm

    Can we still use the apple pencil 1

  13. Yaa_ Nyara on February 25, 2021 at 10:04 pm

    Is the basic 64 gb model sufficient for everyday use and for work?

  14. SahanTheMighty on February 25, 2021 at 10:04 pm

    @1:28 It got a wee bit creepy. Mm, that’s hot.

  15. Gautam Singh on February 25, 2021 at 10:06 pm

    If anyone doesn’t have an iPad, makes sense for him to recommend iPad air. But if someone already has a base iPad ($329), why will he go beyond and spend $200 more just coz of the bezel or 32GB memory. Since when 32GB memory is small enough for iPad. Other reviewers like Dave etc. explain ‘iPad’, this guy wants to sell iPad. There is a thin line between reviewing and selling, this apple-verge guy makes sure ppl buying base iPads are not elite enough.

  16. Max Seidel on February 25, 2021 at 10:06 pm

    Hi

  17. iCloud /apple on February 25, 2021 at 10:06 pm

    I’m getting it with Apple Watch SE

  18. troblon on February 25, 2021 at 10:06 pm

    aa

  19. The Verge on February 25, 2021 at 10:08 pm

    Are you upgrading to the new iPad Air?

  20. o r a n g e ` on February 25, 2021 at 10:09 pm

    Same, I’m getting the green one <3

  21. wizard7x on February 25, 2021 at 10:10 pm

    Amazing video! I liked it!

  22. Theo on February 25, 2021 at 10:12 pm

    Upgrading from my og air. you think the difference will be noticeable?

  23. Maurizio Lavalle on February 25, 2021 at 10:13 pm

    I wish wor would stop saying ‘it’s an iPad’ 🙁

  24. Brantley Bilbo on February 25, 2021 at 10:13 pm

    You don’t have to press down on the Touch ID. Just rest your finger but don’t press down on the power button

  25. youngscoping on February 25, 2021 at 10:17 pm

    I’d like pick up an iPad Pro 2018, it’s more than this one.

  26. Luiggi Garcia on February 25, 2021 at 10:17 pm

    Time to spend that stimulus check

  27. Alicia Walker on February 25, 2021 at 10:18 pm

    Just ordered it sounds amazing good review my man

  28. PK on February 25, 2021 at 10:18 pm

    “The nicest computing experience you can have for $600 or less…”, plus the $299 keyboard, plus the pencil for $129, lets go ahead and call it $1100 as shown. Don’t get me wrong, I have it all too, but its not quite a $600 purchase. Very nice product all put together though, worth the money in my opinion.

  29. Young Car Wiz on February 25, 2021 at 10:18 pm

    Hi my dad is a big business man and he is at auctions all day and requires power. He plays clash of clans to release some stress. He uses Samsung but he’s upgrading to the iPhone 12 Pro Max. Is this iPad the right one or does he need a pro?

  30. Jim Miller on February 25, 2021 at 10:19 pm

    Anyone have a small gray dot on the middle top right of the screen? It there on the home screen and any app I open!

  31. help my life is slowly becoming a meme on February 25, 2021 at 10:21 pm

    ok guys which one should I get
    Ipad air
    OR
    Ipad pro 12 inch

  32. Cubby Bear on February 25, 2021 at 10:22 pm

    Y am I watching this? I already have my iPad Air 4

  33. P Godaz on February 25, 2021 at 10:25 pm

    i don’t even have an iPad why am I watching this

  34. Doom Slayer on February 25, 2021 at 10:25 pm

    Man. This thing costs 880 dollars in canada

  35. Rich on February 25, 2021 at 10:25 pm

    $299 USD for a keyboard? wooooow.

  36. Joseph Glover on February 25, 2021 at 10:26 pm

    Let us know if you can download the Processing & P5.js app & output a circle.

  37. Francisco Dominguez Mendieta on February 25, 2021 at 10:31 pm

    3:50 wow huge deal breaker nowadays

  38. Blackflower Gamerz on February 25, 2021 at 10:31 pm

    The question is 64 or 256?gb

  39. addicted2youtub on February 25, 2021 at 10:32 pm

    I watched your review after paying for iPad Air. And you confirmed that I made a great decision between iPad Air and iPad Pro.

  40. MyLeg! on February 25, 2021 at 10:33 pm

    ill stick to my surface, thanks

  41. Mark M on February 25, 2021 at 10:36 pm

    Worth an upgrade from my iPad Air 3 for this?

  42. Deepak Bisht on February 25, 2021 at 10:37 pm

    Can We Use Expandable Storage With This I Pad Air’s USB Type C??

  43. Dan Nigro on February 25, 2021 at 10:39 pm

    I already have C chargers for my Iwalk and switch so good there.

  44. Leila-Leader Nambinga-Leader on February 25, 2021 at 10:39 pm

    Time 1:10 Hey I caught you. You just said what’s new yet you compared to pro busted!

  45. Ripp3r Jac on February 25, 2021 at 10:39 pm

    All I really have is my air and lg g phone lol

  46. Tom Mariën on February 25, 2021 at 10:39 pm

    I bought the 256GB version and it was 806 EURO. On a side note, is the pencil worth buying?

  47. Gabe on February 25, 2021 at 10:40 pm

    im going to be honest 600$ is pretty cheap for a new ipad normally its like 1,000$

  48. NoNicheTV on February 25, 2021 at 10:41 pm

    cant enjoy the apps here. force subscription. just for ego

  49. Juan Paulo M. Caruncho on February 25, 2021 at 10:41 pm

    iPad Air 4 speakers in movie sounds cinema.

  50. Chris Leung on February 25, 2021 at 10:45 pm

    Good honest review

Leave a Comment