Microsoft Surface Pro X (2020) Review – The Future of Laptops?

Review of the Microsoft Surface Pro X 2020. A Windows 10 Arm tablet in its second generation gets a minor spec update but performs significantly better due to a year of software updates. But is it worth buying one? Watch for the full video!!

Buy here:
Microsoft Surface Pro X (2020) – https://go.magik.ly/ml/11nrx/

Help Support the Channel and become part of the Elite Squad! http://bit.ly/2Hr8ZJF

This is where I get my Music: http://bit.ly/2T5iuPP

If you have any questions feel free to hit me up on Discord – https://discord.gg/mattmoniz

Follow me on Social Media:

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattmoniz
Instagram: http://instagram.com/mattmoniz123
Twitch – http://twitch.tv/mattmoniz
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mattmoniz123
Website: http://www.matthewmoniz.com

50 Comments

  1. Calm Sounds on May 4, 2021 at 12:18 am

    I don’t speak tech so would it be able to run Minecraft?

  2. Miguel Defares on May 4, 2021 at 12:21 am

    Linux is the way to the future even for Microsoft

  3. Willdminfinity on May 4, 2021 at 12:22 am

    It’s a tablet

  4. Authan65 on May 4, 2021 at 12:23 am

    Windows on ARM is garbage

  5. Anthony Laracuente on May 4, 2021 at 12:25 am

    I’ll stick with my MacBook Pro with m1 chip

  6. Pradyun Setti on May 4, 2021 at 12:26 am

    m1 just killed this off instantly then lmao

  7. Shanmuga Sundaram on May 4, 2021 at 12:27 am

    nice review

  8. Vincenzo Mario Saltamartini on May 4, 2021 at 12:28 am

    I use 3 apps: Progressive Web Apps, Office, Edge 💚 perfect

  9. Entombed on May 4, 2021 at 12:30 am

    Waiting for surface pro on Ryzen.

  10. Bima Sudiarto on May 4, 2021 at 12:31 am

    A windows 10 tablet that is shredded to death by iPhone 12. Holy fuck. Lol.

  11. I Love Stonks on May 4, 2021 at 12:31 am

    I would if it were easier to fix

  12. Kusuma Yogi on May 4, 2021 at 12:31 am

    Microsoft Windows ecosystem is bad because they
    split UWP apps and exe programm.

    Plus windows tablet mode is suck.

  13. T HOFF on May 4, 2021 at 12:32 am

    awesome review. i was holding out for the Neo, but given it appears cancelled or way off, i am going to go for this. I love my surface book 2, but the battery has gone to almost zero for the tablet (which i love). I mostly take notes, consume media and listen to music on my SB2. Given that, i will go back to this form factor (I had a surface pro 3 before the book). Love the surface line

  14. MindsEd on May 4, 2021 at 12:34 am

    Is it fairly easy to run Linux on it?

  15. Mike Benjamin on May 4, 2021 at 12:35 am

    I have the 2019 version are there updates?I love your channel 100 thumbs up great job.

  16. Young Sensei on May 4, 2021 at 12:37 am

    An iphone performs better than the Surface???

  17. ΕΡΜΉΣ, PONTIFEX MAXIMVS on May 4, 2021 at 12:38 am

    I consider everything that doesn’t make a !@#$ing noise the future.

  18. Bb on May 4, 2021 at 12:40 am

    I want one for running Cricut Design Space and QuickBooks online. I think it can do well

  19. Matthew Moniz on May 4, 2021 at 12:40 am

    I’m liking the design, the lack of heat and the quiet performance. However, we are just waiting for more arm apps made for Windows 10. But 1 year later things are looking better! What do you guys think? Hit me up on discord.gg/mattmoniz if you have any questions!

  20. AxlAxeMan on May 4, 2021 at 12:43 am

    is that a left
    handed guitar or a reverse headstock?

  21. Sitou Dien on May 4, 2021 at 12:45 am

    2020 model is still half baked. Shame. What happened? M1 just humiliated the SPX. M1 running Windows better than SPX. Get your act together MS.

  22. Mr. Berry on May 4, 2021 at 12:45 am

    Interesting knowing that Microsoft is focusing on building their own "Microsoft Ecosystem" to get the most out of their products. I still love it because it is easy to travel with, but MS Edge is a tough sell. The rest of MS software products I don’t have a problem using.

  23. ad78 on May 4, 2021 at 12:47 am

    Insider program released and lets rejoice lol

  24. Ping Yang Chang on May 4, 2021 at 12:47 am

    well, comparing the performance and program compatibility of this to apple’s M1 line up, it just becomes pointless
    not to mention the price tag is way higher than the base model of MacBook…

  25. Nick Espy on May 4, 2021 at 12:50 am

    Do a review of the new Moonlight Version 3 running on surface pro x with native ARM64 support!!! look in it, it was released this month (January)

  26. Pit J. on May 4, 2021 at 12:51 am

    My experience with two Surface Pro 4 – GARBAGE!!! Do not tell me. The new version use Microsoft array 🙂 No! No! What about Black Screen of Death or 1Million effected device with Screen flecker problem.

    Like I said – GARBAGE from India, boss from India, hardware engineers from India, with… etc…OMG

    At the moment Bil is busy with Corona vaccine and other things and project in Microsoft… I understand, we understand Bil.

  27. kingkai on May 4, 2021 at 12:51 am

    microsoft needs to partner up with AMD.

  28. Honest Mike on May 4, 2021 at 12:53 am

    I had the original pro X, and although I loved what it was trying to do, I ultimately had to get rid of it because of how half-assed the ARM implementation was. When covid kicked in and I had to do a lot of teams calls, its lack of optimization become a major issue.

    I just recently spend a couple months with an M1 mac and am convinced ARM is the future. Its the best laptop I’ve ever owened. Unfortunately, I just wasn’t able to make Mac OS work with my work application.

    I really want the new Pro X to be great, but i’m worried i’ll regret it.

  29. Islamibm on May 4, 2021 at 12:53 am

    They literally did what Apple is doing now a year ago, but companies and people supported Apple more, regardless, the adoption for Apple m1 from software companies, will benefit the surface x aswell, since all these apps becoming arm compatible now, so Microsoft just needs to make better cpu, hardware to benefit from that, or Apple will annihilate them again, and this time around Apple is coming also for gamers with these powerful chips, good times to be alive as a developer, love to see these advancements.

  30. mystery chemical on May 4, 2021 at 12:54 am

    Microsoft was behind on Smartphone but they are simply knowingly getting behind on all tablet, pc, headphone, processor and other stuffs. They are limiting themselves so much on hardware side and they are just trying and not giving their full effort at all which is shame for company who make product which has maximum dominant market. Let’s forget about Fluent design on Windows 10 I rarely see app there with Fluent design and even I requested huge software vendors to make app with fluent design and they be like ‘Let’s use old crap theme’. Microsoft Store is full of junk and no actual useful apps. Literally Microsoft is totally wrecking things up. If ARM gets fixed on Apple side most people will buy M1 Mac over Windows PC or Laptop. I think Microsoft is slowly waiting for them to get wrecked up. At least Windows 10 is kinda secure and stable OS over before versions.

  31. Parimal DGY on May 4, 2021 at 12:56 am

    Please don’t buy any surface products, software has many issues, they update it regularly, whenever new updates comes the system fails in many other hardware things…for me in last update and the keyboard and mouse stopped working…customer service is worst. Doesn’t worth the money we pay to those people!!!!

  32. Random Dude on May 4, 2021 at 12:56 am

    See, I really love the design of surface products. They’re so sleek, clean, minimal and are just gorgeous to look at. I just think the lack of 32 and 64bit program support (even with emulation, the performance is very poor), and the huge price tag is what will keep me away from products like this for a while. I need the program support as an educator, which is why I went with the Intel-based surface pro 7. I hope that within a couple of years, Microsoft will have its own ARM-based chip (which they are apparently working on) that can compete with Apple and can provide near identical performance to native 32-64 bit programs.

  33. Brian Lee on May 4, 2021 at 12:57 am

    My Surfact Pro 4 is dying (screen is detatching and might explode any moment) only after 3 years due to the bulging battery problem. To my surprise, MS wouldn’t fix it (due to their policy) even if it is due to the defective battery but had the nerve to ask me to pay $450.00 to get it exchanged with refurb. Surface Pro 4. I will never purchase any hardware from MS again as they just have zero customer support.

  34. Adam Smith on May 4, 2021 at 12:57 am

    You want more laptops more locked down? These have mandatory secure boot and have no ability to run anything other than Windows on them (even if there is an ARM64 version of the device). Why does ARM = locked down to OEMs? This mentality has to change before I EVER consider an Arm laptop

  35. Ang Ksh on May 4, 2021 at 12:59 am

    i liked when borat shows up

  36. Mr T. on May 4, 2021 at 1:00 am

    So glad I dodged this one last year – was soo close on pulling the trigger – instead I’m on ARM with a MBA 2020 M1, that’s the real deal!

  37. Mamta Jawa on May 4, 2021 at 1:01 am

    Any screen flickering issue with surface pro x? Do u recommend this devise for online teaching?

  38. Brandon Fasan on May 4, 2021 at 1:02 am

    I wonder what the performance with premiere pro would be on this

  39. Wong Tik Ki on May 4, 2021 at 1:03 am

    We already have computers like this. They are called ‘iPad’.

  40. Callum Sinclair on May 4, 2021 at 1:07 am

    everyone alri

  41. Jordy Mendoza on May 4, 2021 at 1:08 am

    Good review brother you got all I wanted to know.

  42. Parimal DGY on May 4, 2021 at 1:09 am

    Please don’t buy any surface products, software has many issues, they update it regularly, whenever new updates comes the system fails in many other hardware things…for me in last update and the keyboard and mouse stopped working…customer service is worst. Doesn’t worth the money we pay to those people!!!!

  43. Aner Karaduz on May 4, 2021 at 1:09 am

    So much good info in this video! Great job!

  44. OhWhat World on May 4, 2021 at 1:11 am

    Just buy a Mac with the new M1 chips. I am sure a mass exodus from intel based products would soon get all of these companies to switch over to the infinitely superior ARM technology for all of their products pretty quickly.

  45. Michael Lewis on May 4, 2021 at 1:11 am

    I’m not living in a browser, I use Teams, VS Code, the new Photoshop beta compiled for ARM, I run a full version of Linux in WSL2 and yeah, I guess I use Edge for ARM as well. My point, it’s definitely more capable than a Chromebook. Thanks for the video!

  46. Michael on May 4, 2021 at 1:13 am

    Intel processor lol… I’m waiting for ryzen surface pros. Nothing big has changed since my surface pro 4 otherwise.

  47. Miguel on May 4, 2021 at 1:14 am

    Would you say this is a better buy over the surface book 2?

  48. Chakram Bleu on May 4, 2021 at 1:16 am

    I am an educator all I do is use learning tools, zoom and email… browse and watch movies will this laptop work?

  49. rheys on May 4, 2021 at 1:16 am

    Apple m1 destroy this device… Though i am windows user but its reality for now

  50. Callum Clark on May 4, 2021 at 1:17 am

    This is an image for what the iPad Pro needs to evolve towards- tablet form factor running full macOS with a top class keyboard.

Leave a Comment