HDMI For Sega Genesis – Hyperkin HDTV Sega Cable! Review & Comparison!

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases from links posted in my description & comments section. By popular demand we take a look at the Hyperkin HDTV cable for the Sega Genesis! Features 4:3 or 16:9 aspect ratio switch with 720p resolution. Confirmed compatible with the Model 2 Genesis only, the cord included is the wrong one for the Model 1, and I do not have a model 3 to test. OSSC footage was done at 2x lines to keep it simple and not as to completely highlight the OSSC… But it can do up to 5x lines, scanlines and tons of options.

Buy Hyperkin HDMI Genesis Cable: https://amzn.to/2QCbPwk or https://castlemaniagames.com/

Get $5 off your first purchase at Castlemaniagames: https://bit.ly/2HGpAHf

Win Free Limited Edition NeoGeo Samurai Shodown Bundle: https://bit.ly/2wrUnBj

Genesis Mini Amazon US Preorder: https://amzn.to/2HQQpd5
Mega Drive Mini Amazon UK Preorder: https://amzn.to/2HPU0IF​

Check out my recommended products on Amazon here: https://www.amazon.com//madlittlepixel

Become a Patron: https://www.patreon.com/madlittlepixel

Support My Channel: https://www.paypal.me/madlittlepixel

Follow me https://twitter.com/madlittlepixel

Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/madlittlepixelgaming

Want to send me something for unboxing, review or gift or just a nice letter?? Send to:
Ron Pixel
PO Box AK
Beaumont, CA
92223-00AK

These are the items I use to record my videos!
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

VIDEO:
Canon EOS Rebel SL2 DSLR: https://amzn.to/2JpG6NN
Elgato HD Pro Capture Card: https://amzn.to/2CI9eLz
Logitech C922 Pro Stream Webcam 1080p: http://amzn.to/2y5sGjj

AUDIO:
Mic – Shure SM7B: https://amzn.to/2FCWre9
Pre-Amp/Processor: https://amzn.to/2HM4SXL
USB Audio Interface: https://amzn.to/2FEuse6
Rode VMPR VideoMic Pro R: https://amzn.to/2Jd6dbq

MISC EQUIPMENT:
Stream Deck: https://amzn.to/2Ueyd2X
Studio Mic Arm: https://amzn.to/2HI2em1
Ravelli Light Weight Tripod: https://amzn.to/2JtzVrW
Gamdias Headset: https://amzn.to/2FAk1bm
Lighting: https://amzn.to/2uwGEIr
Green Screen: https://amzn.to/2U2pt0H

#Hyperkin #SegaGenesis #Madlittlepixel #Review #GamingNews #Retrogaming

*There are affiliate links in this description.

50 Comments

  1. Gryffin DarkBreed on December 18, 2019 at 12:40 am

    I mean, the Hyperkin cable looks pretty soft, but it’s clearly pulling from the RGB signal. For $30… Maybe as an entry level deal? It looks on par with the Tink at the least.

    If you’re serious about retrogaming though, I dunno. I’d probably aim for getting the OSSC, since you can use it with multiple systems.

  2. Opoks on December 18, 2019 at 12:40 am

    i guess those hyperkin cabels with the job but i don’t know what’s the deal with hyperkin or pound with their cables why is the image is darker and the colors washed out

  3. JCG 88 on December 18, 2019 at 12:40 am

    ossc not worth the price. hyperkin hdmi is the best option because it allows you to use your modern tv and is ten times cheaper so you can afford more hdmi cables for other retro consoles. what if you have a lot of retro consoles are you going to buy an ossc for everyone of them?

  4. Francesco Finocchi on December 18, 2019 at 12:41 am

    Does It work on PAL consoles ?

  5. Andrew Mann on December 18, 2019 at 12:42 am

    You just plug the usb into your tvs usb port. Ive never had an issue

  6. quanahk on December 18, 2019 at 12:45 am

    I look forward to seeing them fix the model one issue since that is the same cable that works with the Master System

  7. leon johnson jr on December 18, 2019 at 12:46 am

    Yes the power sucks now u got 3 power adapters if u got a sega cd hook up power for the hdmi and the genesis and the Sega cd

  8. Gabriel Callegari on December 18, 2019 at 12:47 am

    I didn’t understand which is the problem with the Sega Genesis 2 to Sega Genesis 1 cable adapter provided by Hyperkin: is it the size of the pins, the disposition of them, or the internal pinout connection is not right?

  9. Valkilrie on December 18, 2019 at 12:48 am

    PS2 one sucked, I wouldn’t trust that companies products. I have yet to get anything that was quality from the company Hyperkin. They remind me a lot of what mad catz was when they were around. Sure, they had all these products, but none of them were quality and would break easily.

    PRO TIP: Look on marketplaces and you will find locals selling old CRT TV’s for CHEAP, picked one up for 10 bucks. No need for those cables any more.

  10. Anthony Vandel on December 18, 2019 at 12:49 am

    Heloo Mad… maybe u can help…..Im new to Retropie……………. Why for example in the SNES Roms says ”_Super Nintendo_missing” one of the games is Legend of Zelda, The – Parallel Worlds ??

  11. Gary Pearcey, Jr. on December 18, 2019 at 12:50 am

    Hyperkin does make sharp looking boxes. Thanks for the video. I definitely want an ossc, but this might be a good stopgap for some.

  12. Jeremy Wininger on December 18, 2019 at 12:50 am

    What about control latency? There has to be an analogue to digital conversion which consumes milliseconds and makes the display lag behind controller input. Just curious.

  13. Edward Langley on December 18, 2019 at 12:52 am

    Not bad at all! Most gamers with model 1 will already have that short cable adapter game on.

  14. Darkstar263 on December 18, 2019 at 12:52 am

    I have a model 2 Mega Drive. Since it comes with a cable meant for the model 1, do you have to buy another cable for the model 2?

  15. Owaz Gaming on December 18, 2019 at 12:53 am

    Would like to see the results when working with a Sega Master System.

  16. English Dub on December 18, 2019 at 12:57 am

    I NEED a cable with a detectable HDMI cable because I use the same one to pipe all the systems into the TV

  17. piloy85 on December 18, 2019 at 12:57 am

    Open source converted nice XD

  18. Ricardo on December 18, 2019 at 12:58 am

    Review the snes cable next lol

  19. john koziol diesel n coffee on December 18, 2019 at 12:59 am

    Now I’m 32 x has a legitimate purpose. And it would be using that model 1 adapter so we could hook a model to connector like this cable up to it

  20. Sam Lawry on December 18, 2019 at 12:59 am

    Someone have a link to dowload a Retropie or Recalbox modded version in 15khz for Asus Tinker and Raspberry3b+ ?
    Thanks

  21. Andrew Mann on December 18, 2019 at 1:00 am

    Sorry, not enough difference to spend 65 bucks over 25 for the hyperkin hdmi on ebay

  22. wolfgang frost on December 18, 2019 at 1:05 am

    Genesis/Megadrive is my favourite console. Love the original hardware, but that slight audio buzz during a pause is a real thing. Heard it when I used to plug headphones into my Model 1.

  23. piloy85 on December 18, 2019 at 1:07 am

    30 vs 300 is good to have options

  24. Brian Booher on December 18, 2019 at 1:09 am

    I prefer the model 1 since it outputs 2.1 sound through the headphone jack and my model 2 only does 2.0 sound. If I can get 2.1 sound through HDMI on my model 2, then I’d go for it.

  25. Madlittlepixel on December 18, 2019 at 1:11 am

    Buy Hyperkin HDMI Genesis Cable: https://amzn.to/2QCbPwk or https://castlemaniagames.com/

    Get $5 off your first purchase at Castlemaniagames: https://bit.ly/2HGpAHf

    Win Free Limited Edition NeoGeo Samurai Shodown Bundle: https://bit.ly/2wrUnBj

    Genesis Mini Amazon US Preorder: https://amzn.to/2HQQpd5
    Mega Drive Mini Amazon UK Preorder: https://amzn.to/2HPU0IF​

    Check out my recommended products on Amazon here: https://www.amazon.com/shop/madlittlepixel

    Become a Patron: https://www.patreon.com/madlittlepixel

    Support My Channel: https://www.paypal.me/madlittlepixel

    Follow me https://twitter.com/madlittlepixel

    Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/madlittlepixelgaming

    Want to send me something for unboxing, review or gift or just a nice letter?? Send to:
    Ron Pixel
    PO Box AK
    Beaumont, CA
    92223-00AK

  26. Xalalalala's Attic Treats on December 18, 2019 at 1:12 am

    Great! Now it’s exactly like running an emulator on your PC. I can understand these gadgets are useful for video capturing purposes but for playing? What about the good old graphics? That’s what’s retro gaming is IMO.

  27. Andi9N on December 18, 2019 at 1:13 am

    Very anxious to check this cable out, cause my OSSC makes problems especially when using my Model 1 Genesis with my Sega CD 2.

  28. Ebenezer Scrooge on December 18, 2019 at 1:14 am

    Hyperkin aren’t the most reliable… heck their supaboy wave1 and wave2 had issues where the inductor got so hot, it melted the back of the casing. had it happen twice. they wouldn’t accept a return either. I would stick with good’ol RGB modding. nothing beats genuine scan lines.

  29. Dion Grant on December 18, 2019 at 1:16 am

    This will also make the aes have hdmi?!!

  30. john koziol diesel n coffee on December 18, 2019 at 1:16 am

    Cuz some stuff like the HD retrovision cables don’t even work with your newer TVs you have to get some kind of upscaler like the Retro Tinker because I was using something like the GBS 8200 and that wasn’t even upscaling it enough to work on a newer TV. I just want to make my connection simple so this would be a good solution

  31. James Carlson on December 18, 2019 at 1:18 am

    I was wondering about this. The HDMI cable certainly looked better than expected. But I’m just gonna roll with the HD Retrovision cable and Retrotink 2x.

  32. Cardboard Sliver on December 18, 2019 at 1:19 am

    I should get another Model 1 adaptor for my SMS

  33. Mellow Dude on December 18, 2019 at 1:20 am

    So at around 10 minutes, does that mean that the hyperkin cable is not processing the 240p signal properly?

  34. TurboJoe -Old School Gaming on December 18, 2019 at 1:21 am

    I have a model 1 Genesis, so thanks for the heads up, I was about to buy it… what would you recommend for me to purchase that wont break the bank?

  35. Chris Pacheco on December 18, 2019 at 1:21 am

    I knew this wasn’t gonna be good…, it absolutely PERFECT!..works for me!🙃

  36. Eternal Tamashii on December 18, 2019 at 1:24 am

    This helped greatly. I’ve been trying to find Hyperion hdmi videos for a while to see the quality. Thank you very much. 🙂

  37. Soulkilla15 on December 18, 2019 at 1:24 am

    Also another thing that was not mentioned about these cables, for 240p content these cables interpret it as 480i so you will see lines disappear on an object when it is in motion as well as other graphical anomalies.

  38. SNES Fan89 on December 18, 2019 at 1:26 am

    Old consoles is meant to be played on the CRT. Playing on modern HD panel tv aesthetically suck.

  39. Juan Diaz on December 18, 2019 at 1:27 am

    I’m sticking to my Scart cables.. I haven’t seen anything better yet.. the hyperkin cables give a dark and dirty look to the game. Not good cables at all.

  40. Objectified Cross on December 18, 2019 at 1:28 am

    Actually it should work just the same on a Model 3 since the Model 3 uses the exact same AV port as the Model 2.

  41. Pyro Dedman on December 18, 2019 at 1:30 am

    Where did you get the HDRV model 1 cable from? While I have the 5 pin AV cable for model 1, I’m not sure if it’s exactly the right cable seeing how the model 1 av port has all 8 pin holes.

  42. Josh Martimez on December 18, 2019 at 1:30 am

    The Hyperkin cable produced a good picture sucks it doesn’t safely work with a model 1 that’s the only version of the system I own. I’ve played all 3 official models over the years and model 1 Genesis can’t be beat.

    Anyways OSSC wins this round for me. For a little less you can get an Analogue SG. That clone like system is worth every penny.

  43. JamesyBoyJim on December 18, 2019 at 1:30 am

    I think I agree with most people. For the price it does a job. It isn’t perfect but would be good enough for most people to play their original hardware on a modern TV. I’d buy one.

  44. Róża Lewicka on December 18, 2019 at 1:30 am

    Does it work with ps4

  45. Switch Pro on December 18, 2019 at 1:31 am

    Will the Hyperkin work on PAL displays? I’d love to get one.

  46. GameBoy Guru on December 18, 2019 at 1:32 am

    I’ve noticed a huge difference for both streaming, and just playing, by having my JVC X’Eye hooked up via Euro-SCART cable to the OSSC, and using a 5x setting to get a beautiful, crisp 1080P picture. It looks and sounds amazing. But that’s a lot of cash to lay out for simply playing games, unless you have to have the best picture and sound options. In that sense, it might almost be worth buying a Mega SG, unless you need 32X support. Even so, I understand that the OSSC is made for a hobbyist like me, not so much for the general market consumer. Most general market folks will see a product like this and easily pay $30 for the product that can inexpensively make their old Genesis work on their new TV, and look reasonably good doing it. It probably won’t seem like it’s that much different than what they experienced via RF or even Composite as a kid, and that’s probably okay. It’s a "good enough" product for its intended use case and target market.

  47. Finfection on December 18, 2019 at 1:33 am

    The clouds in the Sonic 2 footage lost all of it’s shading and detail using the Hyperkin cable. Yuck.

  48. Futuredynamo on December 18, 2019 at 1:33 am

    The semi good news is that if you have a 32X, then using a model 1 Genesis won’t matter since you are connecting it to the 32X anyway, which using the same connection as the Model 2 Genesis.

  49. Luke the Duke on December 18, 2019 at 1:33 am

    Does it work with a Sega Saturn?

  50. Jesus Zamora on December 18, 2019 at 1:37 am

    Stupid question, is there any other model 1 to model 2 video adapter one can replace that one with?

Leave a Comment