Garmin Edge 830 Review | Cycling Weekly

The Garmin Edge 830 is big improvement for Garmin’s 800 computer series, with an impressive and improved touchscreen and usability | Subscribe to Cycling Weekly here: https://www.youtube.com/user/CyclingWeekly1?sub_confirmation=1

The Garmin Edge 800 range of devices has lived in one guise or another for quite few years now. In 2011, the original Garmin Edge 800 was born – the first to feature a touchscreen.

Then came the 820 in 2016. Those first touchscreens were difficult to use, went haywire in the rain and generally glitched out – often at the cost of your whole ride.

Read more at: https://www.cyclingweekly.com/reviews/computers-gps-watches/garmin-edge-830

More at:
Cycling Weekly: http://www.cyclingweekly.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CyclingWeekly
Instagram: https://instagram.com/cyclingweeklymagazine
Google+: https://plus.google.com/103552890268543091591/posts
Twitter: http://twitter.com/cyclingweekly
Email: cycling@ti-media.com

45 Comments

  1. Pieter jan De schrijver on December 4, 2020 at 9:24 pm

    Very Nice review thanks ☺️!!!

  2. Daniel Lai Kei Mok on December 4, 2020 at 9:24 pm

    But does it blend?

  3. jimmynickelz on December 4, 2020 at 9:24 pm

    Sitting here like "what’s an Alfred mount"?

  4. Oscar on December 4, 2020 at 9:25 pm

    Well, I still can’t understand how the configuration process and phone app for such a great device is so, so, so bad. I’ve got a Wahoo Bolt and a Garmin 830. The main reason I still use my Wahoo (besides I love it) is the headache for the frequent failures in sync and the pain in the ass that is to configure or change settings on the device through the app. All is so easy on my Wahoo. Otherwise the device is absolutely great. I’ve got same problem with my beloved watch (Garmin Phoenix 6) compared to my previous (Suunto). Why, Garmin, why?

  5. Don Walutes on December 4, 2020 at 9:27 pm

    I have a question about the 830 memory … I believe it is 16 GB. Is that enough? Also, can the memory be expanded as it can in the 1030 and 1030 Plus?

  6. Wo Strick on December 4, 2020 at 9:28 pm

    Thanks for that. What about the upcoming edge 1040, any (insider) news / details?

  7. koenigseggccr007 on December 4, 2020 at 9:30 pm

    nice review. thank you 🙂

  8. TR Roland on December 4, 2020 at 9:31 pm

    Garmin Connect the app and Garmin Connect the website may seem a bit clunky compared to newer rivals, because both are older and embedded with older legacy approaches. They need a wholistic rethink and maybe make one version for serious training racers and another for tourist.

  9. Eagleburger90 on December 4, 2020 at 9:31 pm

    Got my 830 in the mailbox yesterday. Have the 530 and it is great. Wanted to try the touch screen.

  10. tomar5e115 on December 4, 2020 at 9:34 pm

    Is there a phone app that does all the same? I see these dedicated devices as pointless…

  11. Umut Birey on December 4, 2020 at 9:35 pm

    bryton all the way.

  12. The European Cyclepaths on December 4, 2020 at 9:38 pm

    Great review . Thanks 👍

  13. prakasharaman on December 4, 2020 at 9:39 pm

    Very good review, Thank you! If i may ask, if the price is the same for both, do you think 830 is still a better GPS computer then the 1030 (which is 3 years old now)?

  14. stephen dailey on December 4, 2020 at 9:39 pm

    Still has a laggy touch screen, still has a abc keyboard, maps not bright enough at night, comparing a 830 to 820 is not a good bench mark, there’s far superior GPs out there, like the Wahoo Roam and hammerhead Karoo, Garmin needs to keep up with the times or get left behind.

  15. Paul Ferguson on December 4, 2020 at 9:43 pm

    I hope they pack the box better than that. Looks like someone at Garmin just chucked it all in a box and walked off. I assume you’ve opened it previously 😛

  16. Aaron Kelly on December 4, 2020 at 9:44 pm

    Mine keeps auto lapping when out on a ride. I never press the lap button it just spontaneously Bros and I get lap notification! Frustrating! Am I missing some menu where I can switch out this default function of do I just have a buggy unit? Any help please???

  17. John Young on December 4, 2020 at 9:45 pm

    You want a Hammerhead Karoo….. Superb

  18. Madtriboy on December 4, 2020 at 9:48 pm

    Good review. Key Msg to Garmin is that whilst the training effect is really nice touch, they need to find a way for it to work across all feeds eg Zwift and other Garmin devices.

  19. O W on December 4, 2020 at 9:51 pm

    I have a Garmin Fenix 6x sapphire watch that I use for all my bike rides. I’d love to see a display on my bike while riding instead of looking at my wrist, would you recommend this Garmin for that or another model?

  20. Mark Bentley on December 4, 2020 at 9:52 pm

    Battery life is great. Touch screen can be pretty laggy at times. Ride upload is full of glitches and you need to be a software engineer to solve them. No such problems with my other computer, the Elemnt Bolt. ClimbPro, which you didn’t mention, is pretty cool and now improved

  21. St. Silver on December 4, 2020 at 9:52 pm

    Is the font Size adjustable?

  22. Brian Henry on December 4, 2020 at 9:55 pm

    …yes, but how do you set it up??

  23. Sherry Oram on December 4, 2020 at 9:55 pm

    I was considering purchasing this particular model. Could you please tell me if the data output also includes calories burned durning cycling? Thanks in advance 🤗🇨🇦👏🏻

  24. TR Roland on December 4, 2020 at 9:56 pm

    Finally, Garmin should realize that the selection of metric vs. imperial should not be per installation of Garmin Connect app, but rather per activity type. This is for those who run with a Garmin watch and ride with an Edge computer. I still understand running in miles and minutes/mile pace and cycling in km because it’s a European sport.

  25. HighGrades on December 4, 2020 at 9:56 pm

    hi. the garmin segments don’t  work for me  during course ride. I m talking about segments created on garmin connect,.

    when i ride without a course i see the segments. why is that ?

  26. Lee Harding on December 4, 2020 at 9:57 pm

    I have one and it’s ok. The vario rear light works well will it and the light meter on the screen is excellent in changing light. I totally disagree with the comments about the touch screen. I would say it’s just about usable. I would give the screen five out of ten. The hole Connect app is crap and the Wahoo system where you control most of it from your phone is obviously the way to go. To be honest I recon I could design a better cycling computer myself. Wahoo’s build quality is shocking and I still can’t believe they started to sell the Roam with a mount that snapped off on the first pothole. It’s just unbelievable how stupid that is. The Hammerhead is almost brilliant and if they do a Hammerhead version two with sound and a smaller bezel and a app like Wahoo they will clean up. If Sony or Samsung etc made a cycling computer they would wipe out Gamin over night. To be honest Garmin are not exactly trying very hard and their hole ecosystem is really out of date and if Wahoo or Hammerhead got their little problems sorted they could clean up easy. Garmin product’s are really well made but it’s all out of date and if they don’t wake up they will be gone in a few years!

  27. asnaeb1452 on December 4, 2020 at 9:59 pm

    That laggy interface has no place in this decade. What a facade of a cycling computer giving the competition. Anyway Garmin fanboys will keep dumping money into these. Don’t forget been shackle to an 8 year old app that has only recieved cosmetic "updates". The worst investment in my years of buying kit…

  28. Mário Simas on December 4, 2020 at 9:59 pm

    wahoo elemnt roam way way better!!!!!!!!!!

  29. Nigel Crane on December 4, 2020 at 10:02 pm

    Must confess to being really disappointed with the 830. I spent more time with it not pairing to the phone that it did pairing and losing the GPS signal every time I went under some trees. Switched to the Roam and no problems. Garmin software is not very user friendly.

  30. rbwoofer on December 4, 2020 at 10:02 pm

    Too much comparison with old Garmins, rather than the competition that you can buy, doesn’t make it a helpful review

  31. John b UK on December 4, 2020 at 10:03 pm

    Don’t bother with these outdate computers just buy a Hammerhead karoo, I did and never looked back.

  32. Deep Throat on December 4, 2020 at 10:05 pm

    If I just want a really good sat nav for my bike without the rest of the bloat, what would you recommend?

  33. Wojciech Popiel on December 4, 2020 at 10:05 pm

    Did you buy the device with your own money or received it for a review?

  34. R D on December 4, 2020 at 10:07 pm

    Thank…battery life is deal breaker and it sounds like the new 830 will last on a double century!

  35. Julian Reynolds on December 4, 2020 at 10:08 pm

    Should I get the 830 or the 1030 plus? Please advise

  36. Ralf Henning-Venske on December 4, 2020 at 10:11 pm

    Good review, but the 830 is by far not as good as you described. The touch screen in winter and in wet conditions is useless. The connection to the smartphone is not really working after finishing the activity. This means the transfer from the head unit to the smartphone and transfer to STRAVA as well. The tracking functionality is aweful – this seem to be an Garmin Connect Software issue. But it is disappointing when this function is reset after every single software update. Changing the navigation course during an activity is not possible. The only solution in this case is to use komoot via smartphone or cancel the current Gran Fondo activity. No – by sure – this Garmin Edge 830 is not a good product imho. On a scale 1 to 10 the result is 4. I would save the money next time and choose Wahoo if there is no progress in user interface and software.

  37. Michael Viales on December 4, 2020 at 10:11 pm

    Is it waterproof?

  38. P MET on December 4, 2020 at 10:17 pm

    The Edge 820 is, hands down, the worst piece of technology I’ve ever owned. I’m very, very hesitant to buy another Garmin. When the Edge 820 came out, there were plenty of reasonable reviews. I’m worried the 830 is going the same way. The touchscreen performance to me looks absolutely awful still, despite what you say.

  39. blazacrew on December 4, 2020 at 10:18 pm

    I am waiting for Wahoo Bolt 2

  40. Mario Zillner on December 4, 2020 at 10:19 pm

    Waiting for the Hammerhead Karoo v2

  41. nisancashi2241 on December 4, 2020 at 10:20 pm

    Garmin is the best…

  42. Joaquín Silva on December 4, 2020 at 10:21 pm

    Please make a video for a garmin 530! Thks!

  43. Jesse on December 4, 2020 at 10:21 pm

    Wasn’t this released last year? Garmin probably stopped making software updates for the unit at this point.

  44. Rob B on December 4, 2020 at 10:22 pm

    Rubber bands ≠ O rings, screws ≠ bolts

  45. Koos Verhagen on December 4, 2020 at 10:23 pm

    I finally said goodbye to Garmin and went Bolt. What a relief! Wahoo just works! Had so much trouble with the garmin software and the touchscreen. Never again Garmin.

Leave a Comment