French Door Refrigerator – Best of 2019 [REVIEW]

French door refrigerators have a unique look, with two smaller fridge doors that open above a bottom freezer drawer. This type of refrigerator offers the most fresh food space, so it’s ideal for homeowners who invest in a lot of produce. It also places all the fresh food at eye level, so you won’t have to kneel down to grab something from the crisper. If you entertain often, the width and double doors on this style of fridge are excellent for party platters.

Having trouble selecting the right french door refrigerator for your kitchen? In this video, we selected our top 4 picks for 2019.

► Samsung RF22K9381SR 36″ 22 cu. ft. Counter Depth Refrigerator – 4 Door Flex Food Showcase
Shop: https://www.designerappliances.com/samsung-rf22k9381sr.html

► GE GFE26JSMSS French Door Refrigerator – Stainless Steel
Shop: https://www.designerappliances.com/ge-gfe26jsmss.html
Don’t forget to add an LG Side Kick Pedestal Mini-Washer:
https://www.designerappliances.com/lg-wd100cw.html

► LG LRFDS3006S 30 cu. ft. Wi-fi, French Door Refrigerator, Door-in-Door – Stainless Steel
Shop: https://www.designerappliances.com/lg-lrfds3006s.html

► Sub-Zero BI-42UFD/S/TH 42″ or BI-36UFD/S/PH 36″ Built-In French Door Refrigerator
Shop 42 inch: https://www.designerappliances.com/sub-zero-bi42ufdsth.html
Shop 36 inch: https://www.designerappliances.com/sub-zero-bi36ufdsth.html

► SUBSCRIBE: We release videos weekly!
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCzfftWpll7ciXW62loeS5hQ?sub_confirmation=1

► VISIT US: If you’re in the New York/New Jersey area, stop by our showroom to experience all our french door refrigerators in person

Designer Appliances
280 Main Street
Bedminster NJ, 07921

or

Designer Appliances
208 Bellevue Avenue
Montclair NJ, 07043

► QUESTIONS: Need help choosing the right french door refrigerator for your home? Call us at 888-714-4938

#bestappliances #appliancereviews #frenchdoorrefrigerator

30 Comments

  1. Bao Ngo on December 9, 2019 at 12:45 pm

    Never understood why anyone would need a giant screen on their fridge.

  2. Albert Einstein on December 9, 2019 at 12:45 pm

    “Features” are not the most important thing, reliability is the most important. In my studies of owner opinions and service professionals ratings, Whirlpool comes out on top and Samsung seems to be universally despised. It should be noted that none of today’s refrigerators match the quality of decades ago when you could count on 20+ years of problem free operation. All of these companies make a lot of good looking but lower quality products because they make more money in warranties and service than sales. I would suggest spending as little as possible on a unit that meets your needs so you can put extra money toward the warranty, you’ll need it.

  3. Larseus on December 9, 2019 at 12:45 pm

    LG and Samsung both have the best looking fridges so what exactly would I get if both of those have issues? I just got an LG and the ice maker is loud with a grinding squeaky noise so I will need to return it already… not a good first impression and my Samsung died. Any thoughts on another affordable fridge?

  4. Nibiru on December 9, 2019 at 12:47 pm

    I’m not sure about the level of quality for them now, but I purchased a Frigidaire side by side 25 years ago and it has worked flawlessly the entire time…and it is still working perfectly. I purchased it as a scratch and dent in 1994. But everything in quality has been compromised across the board. Buyer be ware.

  5. Designer Appliances on December 9, 2019 at 12:49 pm

    In New Jersey/New York area? Stop by our showrooms or conveniently shop online for our top picks:
    * Best Overall – https://www.designerappliances.com/samsung-rf22k9381sr.html
    * Best Budget Friendly – https://www.designerappliances.com/ge-gfe26jsmss.html
    * Best Storage Capacity – https://www.designerappliances.com/lg-lrfds3006s.html
    * Best Luxury – https://www.designerappliances.com/sub-zero-bi36ufdsth.html

  6. Ducati M on December 9, 2019 at 12:49 pm

    Can’t take this video seriously when Samsung is on the list

  7. The Aztec kid on December 9, 2019 at 12:50 pm

    not for the working people,, maybe for the blue-collar

  8. Priscilla Kagitha on December 9, 2019 at 12:52 pm

    How much each one cost

  9. Hanz Berger on December 9, 2019 at 12:53 pm

    Why not post a video on repair frequency on refrigerators?

  10. Veevslav1 on December 9, 2019 at 12:55 pm

    Watch out for the LG Ice Makers. They are notorious for problems.

    The door shelves tend to have issues as well with the plastic easily cracking and breaking with little to no provocation.

  11. A_for_Annie on December 9, 2019 at 12:56 pm

    2:56 The interior is the wrong one for that model.

  12. Albert M on December 9, 2019 at 12:59 pm

    Update2: Two other points, there is a website called ConsumerAffairs.com don’t even attempt to glean any useful or honest information from this website. They get money from the refrigerator manufacturers and do their darnedest to keep the reviews at about 3.5 stars or better. They do that by being selective. Keep in mind 3.5 stars is not that good to begin with so you can imagine how bad the reviews overall are in reality. The other thing, if you read the post of an appliance complaint on ConsummerAffairs.com you will see the manufacturer state “sorry to hear about your problem please contact us” or something to that effect they ask for the serial number so you get the impression they are going to help BUT BUT they never contact you. These comments of concern are all for appearance, a very creepy practice. One other thing, when you look at the reviews especially the glowing ones see if there was a customer incentive (part of a promotional offer) and take those with a grain of salt. The appliance industry has the deck stacked against the consumers and it is downright despicable.

  13. Albert M on December 9, 2019 at 1:00 pm

    Addendum update: We have two LG failures in 5 years, the linear compressor is not reliable, it has a known issue/defect. LG now offers a 10 year warranty on the compressor but that does not cover labor which is the major cost for repair…..the compressor is not all that costly but it’s the labor charges. So instead of redesigning their compressor they give you the proverbial "ice in the winter" with the 10 year warranty. One other issues LG parts do not have a unique part identifier for the newer and older units, that is, they use the same part numbers over and over again so technicians are reluctant to work on them and on top of that they do not get paid by LG in a timely fashion so you wind up with a "Jack of all trades" coming out and they typically use a shotgun approach to diagnosis and repair.
    This time we went with a whirlpool refrigerator, in fact, we already had a whirlpool in the garage for over 5 years and even with all the Texas heat it has been working flawlessly…………though, the main problem with all appliances is planned obsolescence and then the box stores sell you that worthless extended warranty which is insult to injury. This, in essence, is legalized theft. One last thing, GE had a good reputation but the Chinese company Haier bought them out and the quality has suffered. In fact, they give the GE employees steep discounts on their appliances and they won’t even buy them. Good luck, I know our recent failure(s) knocked us for a loop. I am going to post this again above for others searching for a refrigerator since I know how trying this process can be.

  14. Steve Babine on December 9, 2019 at 1:06 pm

    I stopped watching this video after the first recommendation was a Samsung. DON’T BUY A SAMSUNG!! You have been warned.

  15. Albert M on December 9, 2019 at 1:12 pm

    Had two LG refrigerators fail within 5 years. The monumental problem is the horrible customer support and the way they try to keep delaying until you get frustrated and just lay out the money for another refrigerator. Planned obsolescence and they charge quite a bit. They should not be permitted to sell in the USA. I have been calling for our most recent refrigerator failure and they told me to wait by the telephone they would call me on Monday and that was ten 10 days ago so I call and each time I call they state they are trying to find a service person and it shouldn’t be that hard in a large city. Many times they promise you everything on the telephone in order to get a good call "in review" then do nothing about the request for help, totally manipulative. The current one that failed, I might add, in about 4 years.

    https://topclassactions.com/lawsuit-settlements/consumer-products/appliances/889254-lg-class-action-says-refrigerators-fail-within-years/

  16. Rickardo Medina on December 9, 2019 at 1:14 pm

    I repair refrigerators and don’t understand why they are changing the technology of the compressor those inverter compressors is inefficient they have a life of five years and less because there run time never stops so the life of the compressor is shortened

  17. :RE on December 9, 2019 at 1:16 pm

    Thank you so much for making this video. Finally got a good idea on what to look out for.

  18. Masta Katz on December 9, 2019 at 1:16 pm

    DONT. EVER. BUY. LG.

  19. Oluwole Ademuwagun on December 9, 2019 at 1:17 pm

    This review is surely sponsored by Samsung, otherwise Samsung cannot make the list. I have used Samsung refrigerator twice and non ever lasted for more than two years.

  20. naturist on December 9, 2019 at 1:19 pm

    Why the hell would you recommend LG when they have several class action lawsuits nation wide due to failing compressors, LOOK IT UP, we were not aware of this issue tell ours failed in just 2 years & 10 months, replacing the compressor does NOT fix the issue being as they use the same design 💩😠.

  21. David Milligan on December 9, 2019 at 1:22 pm

    Samsung meet sponsor these so called reviews. 2 class action suites due to icing up. We have ours serviced 4 times in 3 years. Check out Yale appliance reviews for honest numbers based on sales and service calls. Whirlpool come in #1

  22. SFbayKID on December 9, 2019 at 1:22 pm

    ALL THESE REFRIGERATORS GET FUCKED AFTER 3 YEARS, ICED UP OR COMPRESSOR GOES OUT FUCKIN AMERICAN MADE OR NOT …COME BACK & TALK ABOUT IT AFTER FEW YEARS …EVERYTHING BRAND NEW WORKS THE BEST NO SHIT!

  23. asd1112 on December 9, 2019 at 1:24 pm

    This is the 2nd time within 3 months, my compressor broke for this piece of junk refrigeration under the LG brand. The labor to replace the compressor each time that it breaks, and it is no joke at $775. I had the compressor replaced by a verified LG technician on 08/21/2019, and now it is broken again, not cooling at all. All my food over $300+ thrown away again. I am completely speechless about this product. The refrigerator in my parent’s house that cost $700, been around 20+ years without any problems. I have paid a good $3000+ for this refrigerator under the LG brand plus the $775 for the repair and now its all broken again..
    Why is LG still selling refrigerators when there is a train of customer w/ obvious issues with the compressor?

  24. Giselle Ruiz on December 9, 2019 at 1:26 pm

    I have Samsung RF22K9381SR

  25. Rina Patel on December 9, 2019 at 1:28 pm

    Samsung is Worst, waste of money. Ice buildup issues with annoying noise. Got it repaired, solved noise issue but now it cannot hold the temperature. I cannot store anything. After 1.5 months of going in circles with repair person and changing parts, no results. Finally have to change the refrigerator this week.

  26. Jose Cuervo on December 9, 2019 at 1:31 pm

    Buy the GE Appliance ! The model shown is not made in the USA but if you buy a french door model with the first number in the serial being a “5”, it is made in the USA. Those are bullet proof and under advertised.

    Example AM502478

  27. Railman - Clocks on December 9, 2019 at 1:34 pm

    hi

  28. California Life on December 9, 2019 at 1:35 pm

    I really like my French door refrigerator. It’s the best purchased I have made. Check it out.

    https://youtu.be/pRsikxgF5Nc

  29. Gail Wood on December 9, 2019 at 1:42 pm

    Lots of bad reviews on Samsung.

  30. The Lighteye on December 9, 2019 at 1:43 pm

    Wish the brand National has a French door. Our 2 door fridge never broke for almost 20 years.

    P.S. after continuous search for latest national refrigerator, found their brand name was changed to Panasonic.

Leave a Comment