Dell XPS 15 Review (2020): The ideal 15-inch laptop

It’s no secret that we love the XPS 13. Dell has refined the portable thin-and-light into one of our favorite laptops. At the same time, the XPS 15 has sometimes felt like a neglected member of the family, lacking some of the polish that made the XPS 13 so great.

With their new 2020 model, Dell is finally showing the XPS 15 some love, with an improved keyboard, large trackpad, sleek design, and excellent, nearly bezel-less screen. Add in powerful internal options including a 6-core i7 Intel CPU and discrete Nvidia graphics, and all for less than many of its competitors, and the XPS 15 joins its 13″ sibling as one of our favorite laptops.

 
Read our full story on Engadget:

Get More Engadget:
• Like us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/engadget
• Follow us on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/engadget
• Follow us on Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/engadget
• Read more: http://www.engadget.com

50 Comments

  1. joshua daniel on April 3, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    This laptop is a pain

  2. lee macdonald on April 3, 2021 at 11:19 pm

    is a £1600 laptop at best.

  3. Mxolisi Ndlovu on April 3, 2021 at 11:19 pm

    I’m sweating

  4. charles engle on April 3, 2021 at 11:20 pm

    I recently bought an XPS 15. It looks very cool but works terribly. Ive spent 3 days on the phone with customer support downloading drivers, new bios,etc in hopes to fix issues. I gave it two weeks ,but nothing has improved. I watched many videos saying this was the best laptop and whew this was a let down. I’m going to return and exchange it. Im hoping this one is just a dud. I’ve read reddit threads saying that people have had to return these 2 or 3 times to get one that works well. Im staying positive and hoping for the best but this has been a very bad experience so far.

  5. mineralisk on April 3, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    Don’t buy. Home and End location are freaking weird.

  6. Futon Entertainment on April 3, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    If anyone’s been annoyed with the “edge” part in Samsung’s edge display phones, you know you don’t want a completely bezel-less screen. You need somewhere to hold the screen. Outlandishly large bezels are an eyesore, but small enough and uniform bezels are actually quite nice and modern.

  7. raijin199 on April 3, 2021 at 11:23 pm

    i like my laptops with number pads

  8. Sumaya Akther on April 3, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    My older brother first said he would wait for the newest iPhone, now he’s saying he will get this. I think good choice.

  9. ideal sistem on April 3, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    i need a laptop that will work 09:00 am to 11 pm. no gaming, no video editing, no render, no autocad. i will use trading stock programs that need high CPU, high RAM and stable perfromance. XPS 9500 is good for this ? or i have to buy Precision series for example 3551 or 7550 ? thank you

  10. C O on April 3, 2021 at 11:26 pm

    You come to YouTube for help on purchasing a laptop and end up more confused. Lol. I’ve already returned 2 computers this year. I really don’t wanna go through that again.

  11. Nirob Ahamed on April 3, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    Dolar price

  12. MsBugzieBaby on April 3, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    If there is no HDMI port, how would you connect it to a television?

  13. Nightcrawler on April 3, 2021 at 11:28 pm

    Does it have a disc drive?

  14. Danielle Zotter on April 3, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    Hahaha the subtitles are complete bullshit on here….

  15. Tanya Kucey on April 3, 2021 at 11:30 pm

    2 thoughts: 1. who needs an SD card reader anymore? Yet everone docking to a large monitor needs hdmi and yeah d’er arent we all streaming to tvs now? 2. Can someone please comment on the fans? the xps15 9560 Ive had for years is great, but before undervolting (hands up Dave Lee) it sounded like an airplane whenever I launched a video or photo editing program. this unit you cannot undervolt, so …. noise anyone?

  16. Jongho Shin on April 3, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    xps9500 사면 안되는 이유
    어마 무시한 사양 이라구요? 이가격이면 타사제품이 사양이 더좋음
    디자인이 이쁘다? 각져서 사각이 날카로운 칼날 같아요 그냥 쇠 덩어리 같아요
    스피커가 좋다…. 노노 맥북이 10배이상은 더좋음
    알미늄 마감에 아노다이징하여 강하다? 아니죠 각져 있어서 기스 충격 더 약합니다
    서비스 최악입니다 여러분 전부 거짓말예요
    초기불량 엄청 많고 QC도 제대로 안된 중국제조 제품입니다

    저는 9500 구입해서 언박싱 했는데 찍히고 기스나고 분진오염 되어서 정중히 교환 요청했는데
    정중히 거절… 그냥 쓰라 니복 이지 해줄수없다… 아직 이러고 있습니다 상식적이지 않아요.델
    그냥 다른 상식있는 회사 제품 사세요 저렴하게요

  17. MiniRusty01 on April 3, 2021 at 11:33 pm

    Wish I could flex this at school

  18. Be nice on April 3, 2021 at 11:35 pm

    Just returned mine because loose trackpad. (September).

  19. Shyam Patel on April 3, 2021 at 11:36 pm

    Just picked the I7, 1TB, 16gb model for £1500 from dell outlet (refurbished) and the price includes 4 years added premium support. I’ve only heard good things about dell refurbished products 🙂

  20. unbroken1010 on April 3, 2021 at 11:37 pm

    Now I’m lost everybody’s complaining about a trackpad on what the XPS 15 was it just a bat because the computer has a great reputation for photo and video editing

  21. Calvin Nel on April 3, 2021 at 11:38 pm

    from the model number how can u tell old model from new model (2020) seems so stupid that its not obvious.

  22. Rohan Debbarma on April 3, 2021 at 11:38 pm

    Price?

  23. Abir Chaudhuri on April 3, 2021 at 11:39 pm

    Thinkpad X1 Extreme or this?

  24. razorree on April 3, 2021 at 11:39 pm

    WTF is wrong with PgUp, PgDown, Insert, Del …………………. ????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  25. green lantern on April 3, 2021 at 11:40 pm

    is this good for arhcitecture rendering/modeling?

  26. Rosebud on April 3, 2021 at 11:41 pm

    Intel is falling behind AMD bruh…

  27. Kenneth Lim on April 3, 2021 at 11:41 pm

    Honestly what’s the best 4K laptop for movies?

  28. Bebané Mohamed on April 3, 2021 at 11:42 pm

    Who know the song wich started

  29. Read my ABOUT section PLEASE on April 3, 2021 at 11:43 pm

    Aloha! Sorry to bother you.😢 If you’re financially blessed, would you mind sharing some to me? I’m saving up to get my laptop working or get a new one. I badly needed one to be able to work again. 😭 Any amount will do. Been trying here in YT but haven’t gotten any savings for the laptop yet though. Trust me, I did try everything already. I’m out of options. 😢 Still have bills to be paid. I’m so lost. So broke. 😭

    P.S. Kindly ignore this instead of being mean to me. I’ve had too much. I’m so vulnerable rn. 😢

  30. Elsborn on April 3, 2021 at 11:46 pm

    It is a horrible damn expensive but useless laptop! I bought it w week ago, it freezes 4 times a day without any reason! Horrible

  31. AISHA GHAI on April 3, 2021 at 11:46 pm

    I got this for Christmas and I now can’t live a second without it

  32. Pskili on April 3, 2021 at 11:47 pm

    Hey there, for anyone who could help me, I’ve had my eye on this laptop for a few weeks and I was curious if it can run Adobe products (Premiere, Photoshop, etc.) comfortably. Also if anyone knows, can it also run video games pretty well? I saw some benchmark tests and they looked impressive

  33. killuahub 7 on April 3, 2021 at 11:50 pm

    Wish I got that instead hahahaha

  34. Edward Crocco on April 3, 2021 at 11:51 pm

    Trust me don’t buy this laptop.
    For this price you will get frustrated. Battery lasts about 1.5-2 hrs if you are streaming 4k hdr content. Even though laptop’s performance is turned all the way up, it’s still not enough to to smoothly fast forward prime video or Netflix. It lags little bit and becomes unresponsive for 2 sec. If you are paying primium this is not acceptable. I just don’t want people to suffer like I do.

  35. Eleazar on April 3, 2021 at 11:51 pm

    How much is it?

  36. Aalin RBLX on April 3, 2021 at 11:52 pm

    imma buy the i9 laptop from amazon i will get it tommorow omgg

  37. Kevin Anslow on April 3, 2021 at 11:53 pm

    I recently had to buy a new laptop; this one looked very nice, but fell into the "may be I can afford it if I sell both my kidneys" category.

  38. TANISHQ PATEL MALAKAR on April 3, 2021 at 11:53 pm

    0:18 Which game was he playing??Pls tell

  39. hadis malik on April 3, 2021 at 11:56 pm

    It’s only have usb port type C? Hmmm

  40. Muhammed Fais on April 3, 2021 at 11:57 pm

    Watching this review knowing that I can’t afford this laptop

  41. Zyleak on April 3, 2021 at 11:57 pm

    ok they for sure copied playstations designs thats messed up

  42. MYsTICx on April 3, 2021 at 11:58 pm

    Good lord that screen phew

  43. ArthropodSpidey on April 3, 2021 at 11:59 pm

    and yet every single reviewer forgets to mention all the build quality and quality control issues.
    comprehensive review, my ass.

  44. Timmeh1k on April 3, 2021 at 11:59 pm

    Is this Bill Gates?

  45. Bo on April 4, 2021 at 12:06 am

    Does it have a lighted keyboard? and also I would like to see just the silver case one so I can determine if the keyboard frame is black, or silver. or grey. They never show you that on the Dell website. My older Dell XPS has silver keys with lighted keyboar. I would like to see more on the keyboard area.

  46. Tech Logik on April 4, 2021 at 12:06 am

    How do you not address during these times the absolutely poor cheap camera it comes with? Everybody webinar/zoom etc…absolutely essential to have a good quality camera. Sounds like a Dell advertisement this review.

  47. Mikkels World on April 4, 2021 at 12:07 am

    Now we just need an AMD version with 3000 series nvidia gpu

  48. dubbc91553 on April 4, 2021 at 12:13 am

    I love the new XSP15 but I have so many issues with the killer wireless card. Can’t even use my WD19tb docking station with monitors because the wifi slows to a crawl due to the lack of power management options with the "modern standby" mode. It’s hardware related because I have the same issue in Ubuntu

  49. 양희정 on April 4, 2021 at 12:13 am

    it looks taiwanese in china activities to whole world

    they lives in korea and made SAMSUNG and LG…

    so many korean companies
    we revealed their all dirties

    i think they does also same things in japan

    and
    whole white societies

    then they does same things only except race case…

    not just living

    really gets their citizen rights
    and
    works as those country citizens
    even workers in government…

    in their zone
    they gets free even their care of their china…

    how do all of you think about that?

    world war no more need guns or swords…

    like a viruses
    they can uses license papers like a weapon…

    sorry for my english…
    i promise i will never come here forever…

    just notice this fact just this is all….

  50. john mireles on April 4, 2021 at 12:13 am

    Even 9 months ago when this video was made I wouldn’t consider overwatch to be a “modern title” but fair enough

Leave a Comment