Classic Game Room – SEGA GENESIS controller review

Sega Genesis controller review. http://www.ClassicGameRoom.com
Shop CGR shirts & hats! http://www.CGRstore.com
Classic Game Room HD and Stella the Video Game Dog review the SEGA GENESIS controller for the 16-bit wonder, the Sega Genesis. This game console / system is one of the best gaming systems ever made. It’s called the Megadrive or Mega Drive MD in many other parts of the world, but over here in ‘da ‘states we got the Genny! Rock solid construction, great ergonomics and well designed buttons make this controller a joy to play. Fire up games like Sonic the Hedgehog, Revenge of Shinobi, Golden Axe and Streets of Rage 1, 2 and 3. This controller handles them all with ease and asks for more…. more SEGA GENESIS that is!! The digital gamepad and standard 3 button layout is what most people got with their Genesis. You could also buy rapid fire and six button versions and joysticks, but this is my favorite. The Sega Genesis controller works with the Atari 2600 and Atari 7800 because they have the same plug configuration. I play all of my Atari reviews with a Genesis controller because it is my favorite. Does not work with a PS3, Xbox 360 or Wii… sadly.

50 Comments

  1. Misuta Suparkoro on March 4, 2021 at 10:17 pm

    There are 3 or more different versions of the Genesis 3-button controller and I’m having a hard time with identifying them. Some are way better than others. The information that’s on reddit and forum threads from 10-20 years ago is inconclusive. Can somebody please do a proper 3-button shootout with ALL the controllers.

  2. Markus Heinsalu on March 4, 2021 at 10:17 pm

    The ones, that also disliked your comment??

  3. Illyrian King on March 4, 2021 at 10:19 pm

    N64 i the most awful controller

  4. I.K. Slash on March 4, 2021 at 10:20 pm

    In the past we had wired controllers and had ehhh graphics(compared to now).
    In the present we have wireless controllers with great graphics,
    In the future we’ll have holographic controllers and GOD LIKE GRAPHICS.

    And kids you just learned some history,and some of the present,and the FUTURE!!!

  5. PHANTOM on March 4, 2021 at 10:22 pm

    A B A C A B B

  6. johneygd on March 4, 2021 at 10:22 pm

    I like the shape of the controller but my issue is that the a b c buttons are to close next to eachother, they,re straight on one line,they are too big and they are placed too deep, however the 6 button controller solves these issues but again that controller has been made way smaller then the original.

  7. Porco-Dio FIlm on March 4, 2021 at 10:22 pm

    Yeah I never really liked them either, I despise most Nintendo controllers though man, to me, the Gamecube controller was like the worst ever, it was just so awkward and obtuse.
    The N64 wasn’t so great either…I only liked the snes and original nes controllers.

  8. Daehawk on March 4, 2021 at 10:24 pm

    I LOVED that controller. So much fun back then.

  9. Sk1ds on March 4, 2021 at 10:24 pm

    It may sound strange, but the d-pad used to cut into my fingers. Besides that, I always thought the positioning of the buttons was kind of awkward, especially when I played Super Hang-On. Accelerating with B and using the turbo with C forced me to hold the controller in a different position. And after a while, the buttons started to wear so badly, that I had to press them really hard. (My little sister used to throw them on the ground when I kicked her ass every time we played Sonic 2.)

  10. Fox McFog on March 4, 2021 at 10:26 pm

    The way it morphs in your hand is great. I love the SNES controller but I never loved the dog bone too much

  11. CurlyHead Kevin on March 4, 2021 at 10:27 pm

    Some controllers gets my hands sweaty. This one is one of them. Still nice looking.

  12. Vampire Squid on March 4, 2021 at 10:30 pm

    My computer hardware is too weak for Windows 7, and Windows 8. New PC is on the way.

    Pfft, if Windows XP thinks it can take down my Vista, it can keep dreaming.

    Vista may be frowned upon, but its still miles better than XP.

  13. Alexander Divi Filius on March 4, 2021 at 10:31 pm

    fanboys of the competing consoles- in this case snes and nes fanboys

  14. elijah huggins on March 4, 2021 at 10:31 pm

    I hate playstation controllers

  15. daminmancejin on March 4, 2021 at 10:34 pm

    ever since they made the 6 button controller 1653 one I moved away from the 3 button controller

  16. One4All All4One on March 4, 2021 at 10:36 pm

    Cool dog! Bet u guys watch tv and drink beer together.

  17. Axel's DDO Channel on March 4, 2021 at 10:38 pm

    I always hated the d pad on this controller compared to the nintendo and sony controllers. I always found it to be clunky and inpercise. Honestly one of the biggest reasons I never got into the genesis and to this day still can’t get into it.

  18. OphinReel on March 4, 2021 at 10:39 pm

    1:35 the dog almost bit your finger off

  19. Vitto's Phone Collection on March 4, 2021 at 10:40 pm

    Ahhhhh that’s y it’s similar to the 360 d pad

  20. Cazmat on March 4, 2021 at 10:41 pm

    I love these controllers! i’ve got a sega master system 2 but the controllers are not as good as these ones

  21. ABOhiccups on March 4, 2021 at 10:41 pm

    Fred Fuchs

  22. finRatman on March 4, 2021 at 10:42 pm

    My thoughts exactly. Well put.

  23. Carlo Nassar on March 4, 2021 at 10:44 pm

    I tried that controller at Awesome Con. It had nice buttons but the D-Pad felt pointy when I moved my thumb around it and the design wasn’t very good due to the scoops on the back of the controller.

  24. Burley Ant on March 4, 2021 at 10:44 pm

    "OH YEAH" I just got the same 3 button controller like you amigo and I might get another one of these amazing controllers so I can share it with my family like a fiesta.

  25. Vampire Squid on March 4, 2021 at 10:45 pm

    I use Windows Vista, you got a bone to pick with me?!

  26. cutemimi25 on March 4, 2021 at 10:46 pm

    I prefer the later model Genesis controller for 2 reasons, 1: longer cord, 2: Better D-pad "I prefer the 2 piece ones compared to the very early model controllers their d-pads feel too stiff for my liking"

  27. DerkuiDerkui on March 4, 2021 at 10:46 pm

    Love this controller! I use it to play Robocop vs. The Terminator. D-pad is perfect for that game!

  28. Matt Mattius on March 4, 2021 at 10:46 pm

    What an absolutely gorgeous dog you have

  29. Eduardo Thompson on March 4, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    “Fits in ur hand” while u r almost breaking ur thumb trying to press the buttons

  30. Onkel Hoek on March 4, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    The IGN douchebags

  31. Lotus cola on March 4, 2021 at 10:49 pm

    The only problem with the original controller are the fighting games, with only 3 buttons you had to use a trigger button.

  32. Aaron .aus Bielefeld on March 4, 2021 at 10:50 pm

    Then realize what Rofle did with Cheetahman.

  33. Jack Lazzaro on March 4, 2021 at 10:50 pm

    You wanna know what Sega does that Nintendon’t?
    Blast processing, prove that games are more important than hardware,
    but most importantly…

    PLAY TRUXTON!!!!

  34. fausmarten on March 4, 2021 at 10:51 pm

    Help me up with this. I had a Sega Genesis Joystick that belonged to my cousin… I broke it.
    The Joystick had three buttons and on top maybe another button, just like the PS1 controlers have L1 R1 L2 R2, but the Sega had only one button at the top which I believe ot was on the right side.
    Do you know which model is it? I need to get one.

  35. Vampire Squid on March 4, 2021 at 10:52 pm

    Yes. Remember, 6 year old stock hardware.

    A mediocre GPU, is part of that 6 year old stockness.

    All my other specs are fine for Windows 7:
    – 3 gigahertz AMD Athlon
    – 3 gigs of RAM
    – 500 gigs of hard drive space

  36. Nev on March 4, 2021 at 10:55 pm

    gotta love the controller

  37. TheRavenArchon on March 4, 2021 at 10:59 pm

    Though I’m a fan of many other systems from all eras of gaming, and I can point to several other controllers I like more overall, I have to say the Sega Genesis controller has, hands down, the best D-pad ever put on a console. Not only is it the perfect shape, size, and texture, but its rocking mechanics give it perfect motion. Why is it that no console since the Genesis (Or at least Sega Saturn, since it basically used the same d-pad) has had a decent d-pad?

  38. tbb033 on March 4, 2021 at 11:01 pm

    I don’t know when exactly that controller is from, but I know it darn sure isn’t from 1989. I have two controllers from 1989 (one came with my system in 1989, one I bought separately also in 1989) and I can tell you the 1989 controllers have red letters on the action buttons, which this one lacks.

  39. Duc Nguyen on March 4, 2021 at 11:02 pm

    The Start button is one button short of a NES.

  40. Al Jay on March 4, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    my favorite controller too)))

  41. Augustinas Rekt on March 4, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    my 6 buttons

  42. Leah L. on March 4, 2021 at 11:08 pm

    How come my Sega Genesis controllers have red ink inside the letters A, B, and C?

  43. inceptional on March 4, 2021 at 11:08 pm

    The SNES controller p*ssed all over this.

    16bit console wars for the win!

  44. Daniel Slade on March 4, 2021 at 11:09 pm

    It’s that of a classic and cool controller!

  45. Th3DeathDog on March 4, 2021 at 11:10 pm

    I prefer the aesthetics and button placement on the SNES controller, but the Genesis controller is much more comfortable to hold and has a better D-pad.

  46. 秋山リッキー Akiyama Ricky on March 4, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    Sega makes the best controllers in my opinion, but also a fact by the way 🙂

  47. Vampire Squid on March 4, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    It just does.

    I installed Windows 7 on my computer, installed all the graphics drivers, but all the windows were still laggy for some reason.

    Remember, my computer came out, 2 years before Windows 7 came out.

  48. Aaron .aus Bielefeld on March 4, 2021 at 11:13 pm

    When Nintendo still bummed around with that 8 bit Nintendo, Sega released their 16 bit Megadrive. And the controller was even better than the Super Nintendo that was released years later as an answer to the Genesis.

    Of course, the Super Nintendo was a bit more advanced since it has been younger, but Sega’s controller was still better and you also can plug it in into the Commodore 64, Colleco Vision, many Atari consoles and some more.

    And Sega’s Mastersystem was also better than the Nintendo.

  49. Matt Mattius on March 4, 2021 at 11:15 pm

    On a side note, I always add weight to lightweight game console controllers. Sega controllers are really lightweight and I prefer my system controllers to be weightier and feeling more substantial. The PS2 Dual shock is around 200grams and to me it feels a perfect weight, so I pop the backs of my Sega controllers and glue in weights to the flat plain back panel in areas that aren’t in the way of anything. The weights are pennies and steel ball bearings carefully glued solidly into place, until the weight is 200grams. Try it…………. I love the feel so much I can’t not do it! I’d have been ok with it if manufacturers built in dead weights into their controllers just for the extra quality feel, nothing ridiculous, just around the 200-220gram mark.

  50. Mahyar Mohammadi on March 4, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    your dog doesnt like the sega genesis contoller😂

Leave a Comment