Classic Game Room – SEGA GENESIS 6-BUTTON CONTROLLER review

Sega Genesis 6-button controller review. http://www.ClassicGameRoom.com
Shop CGR shirts & mugs! http://www.CGRstore.com
Classic Game Room reviews the 6-button controller for the Sega Genesis video game console. Do you have an awesome Megadrive? The MD came standard with a Genny 3 button controller, but some games like Capcom’s Street Fighter 2 just played their best with six buttons. So Sega released the 6-button controller that works with your Mega Drive and Sega CD video game consoles! Use three buttons, use six, swing it around or wear it like a medallion. Sega is where it’s at. Now that we’re all anticipating the new Capcom masterpiece 2d fighting game, Street Fighter IV, we can play Streetfighter II on our Genesis with this handy controller. Other fighting games like Mortal Kombat and maybe even Pit Fighter can benefit too. This controller also works for games like Sonic the Hedgehog, Sonic and Knuckles and the sports titles. Word up Sega! You can even use this controller for Silpheed on SegaCD and Sewer Shark! Does not work on the Wii, PS3 or 360.

50 Comments

  1. Marcello Silva on December 20, 2020 at 10:18 pm

    Fun fact: you can select a six-button control scheme in shinobi III if you input a code that involves the second controller (this one doesn’t need to be six-button)

  2. darrentg6 on December 20, 2020 at 10:18 pm

    The only controller that tops this one is the Sega Saturn controller, which not so coincidentally was based off the Genesis 6-button controller, right down to the same exact build quality for the D-pad & 6 face buttons.

  3. All Access Gaming on December 20, 2020 at 10:19 pm

    Mark, D-pad doesn’t mean Digital Pad! It means Directional Pad.

  4. daminmancejin on December 20, 2020 at 10:23 pm

    I stay using my 6-button controller I have a 3 button controller but I never ever use it anymore

  5. 고out on December 20, 2020 at 10:24 pm

    good pad

  6. HelghastMerc on December 20, 2020 at 10:25 pm

    I really love the 6 button Sega Controller. Not only does it feel a bit more comfortable than a regular Genesis Controller, but the directional pad feels better and a bit more responsive.

  7. daminmancejin on December 20, 2020 at 10:28 pm

    i hated the 3 button controller because it was too fucking big the 6 button feels ALOT better

  8. medamonster1 on December 20, 2020 at 10:29 pm

    yeah that explains about the sega magazine (mega force while nintendo have the nintendo power) they show a controller with 6 buttons they said you can play street fighter 2 it was called the "street fighter 2 controller" well i think

  9. r0b0m1r0 on December 20, 2020 at 10:29 pm

    did I miss? what does the mode button on top do?

  10. Against Myself on December 20, 2020 at 10:29 pm

    Eat that cookie.

  11. Igorek on December 20, 2020 at 10:32 pm

    It reminds me of a hilarious game Leisure Suit Larry: Love for Sail!.

  12. Kevin Rostrup on December 20, 2020 at 10:33 pm

    I got two of thoose controllers in orig. box with instruction note inside and still in small plastic bags what are the value of them ?

  13. Mortis Ideator on December 20, 2020 at 10:35 pm

    I love your old videos. You would review controllers of video game consoles with jazz music, a soothing voice, and as an added bonus, a cute dogo. Btw, how’s she/he doing?

  14. Go Fast on December 20, 2020 at 10:35 pm

    Holy Sh**. Is that a Dingo? My dog is identical her name is Shelby.

  15. KingHenryVR4 on December 20, 2020 at 10:35 pm

    So better controller Genesis 6-button or Saturn

  16. TAMPUZ on December 20, 2020 at 10:36 pm

    3 button controller is just as best as the 6 button controller.

  17. Liviu Japonia on December 20, 2020 at 10:37 pm

    directional pad not digital

  18. Aaron Mastern on December 20, 2020 at 10:37 pm

    There is also a right bumper click button on this controller that says mode. I’m surprised he didn’t mention it cause its so strange. Got this one yesterday and it feels pretty solid.

  19. linkuei83 on December 20, 2020 at 10:38 pm

    you actually need 5 😉

    HP/HK/LP/LK… BL and RN for MK3 and up.

  20. kitrik23 on December 20, 2020 at 10:38 pm

    does the sega sa
    turn control work wit
    h sega genesis games ?

  21. Robert Cotterman on December 20, 2020 at 10:39 pm

    ok, i get that there are some games that made use of the extra 3 buttons if you had it, and to an extent played better with them, but were there ever any that absolutely required this controller type?

  22. Atalanta on December 20, 2020 at 10:39 pm

    He yakked and yakked and never identified the function of the buttons.

  23. UnderscoreCrestFall on December 20, 2020 at 10:41 pm

    Lol, I love the secy saxophone music behind the video while he talks.

  24. Auggie Hubbard on December 20, 2020 at 10:41 pm

    anyone know any games for sega genesis that use 6 buttons other than street fighter 2? I just got my sega genesis model 1 of of ebay with the 6 pack, sonic 2, and a controller. I’m going to get another controller but i’m not sure which one to buy.

  25. Gorilla Jones on December 20, 2020 at 10:43 pm

    What happened to you man?

  26. Kos4Evr on December 20, 2020 at 10:43 pm

    sadly not all Genesis games that were designed with 3 buttons worked properly with the 6 button controller, sometimes confusing the X Y Z and Mode buttons (yes there was a Mode button) functioned as the directions instead of the D pad. The Mode button was on the top right and was supposed to switch between 3 button and 6 button mode to prevent such issues. However I was never able to get it to work like it was supposed to. Worked great for 6 button games and most 3 button games.

  27. skullkrusher49 on December 20, 2020 at 10:44 pm

    hahaha. that dog!

  28. RegalBumper12 on December 20, 2020 at 10:47 pm

    i actually prefer this one

  29. G Ryen on December 20, 2020 at 10:49 pm

    I find that some of the uglier-looking controllers are some of the most comfortable/ergonomic. I think that the original Sega Genesis controller (3-button) is one of the ugliest controllers ever made, but one of the most comfortable.

  30. kadorna1 on December 20, 2020 at 10:49 pm

    all 4 mortal kombat games use 6 button controller, international superstar soccer uses it too, comix zone…

  31. Liviu Japonia on December 20, 2020 at 10:50 pm

    i hate that dog

  32. Kos4Evr on December 20, 2020 at 10:52 pm

    what?!? you don’t need 2 block buttons when playing MK1 and MK2?

  33. richieb74 on December 20, 2020 at 10:54 pm

    is mortal kombat playable with a three button controller? or do i need one of these six button ones?

  34. VampireOutlaw on December 20, 2020 at 10:57 pm

    Cool. I’m getting couple of those…Some games are such a pain without the X, Y, Z buttons. 😛

  35. epic on December 20, 2020 at 10:59 pm

    "Thats right you eat them! Like a coogie"
    Now i want your dog to be a Street Fighter 6 character.

  36. daminmancejin on December 20, 2020 at 11:00 pm

    0:19 that’s the best 6-button controller to get is the gray and black one its very Functional I still use mine all the time and I never had any problems with it I love it so much ^_^

  37. Scott Vogler on December 20, 2020 at 11:01 pm

    nice, did you find out how much you’d take for them? I’d love to take it off your hands if the price is right.

  38. StSubZero on December 20, 2020 at 11:01 pm

    I wonder if Mark has ever seen the Honey Bee series-3 six-button controller.  Based on comparisons, it’s exactly the same width as the standard brand 3 button controllers, with six color coded buttons and turbo switches. I imagine he’d die a happy man if he got one of those. I heard the D-pads on them are a somewhat loose though.

  39. Max Payne fan on December 20, 2020 at 11:06 pm

    I bought a 6-button controller @Game Crazy back in either 2002 or 2003 because I need another 6-button controller in case if someone plays against me in some compatible games.

  40. sufiano rodriguez on December 20, 2020 at 11:07 pm

    That dog is cool

  41. Spencer Shryock on December 20, 2020 at 11:08 pm

    Like a cookie!

  42. divljacina1 on December 20, 2020 at 11:09 pm

    how many times my father just opened that joypad 😀 haha

  43. Xepic_piggehX on December 20, 2020 at 11:09 pm

    GENESIS DOES, WHAT NINTENDONT

    not!

  44. FunkyFranky80 on December 20, 2020 at 11:10 pm

    oh,you can easily say which version you have.
    us Genesis version has a grey Start Button, european pal Version has a red Start Button, and the japanese original has a blue one

  45. David Chen on December 20, 2020 at 11:12 pm

    it sucked when you were the kid who got the 3 button controller during two player games

  46. FunkyFranky80 on December 20, 2020 at 11:12 pm

    Believe me or not, but i was able to buy a brandnew japanese Version of the Sega 6 Button Controller, complete in Box, never used. Cost me 60€, but it’s worth every cent. Its the very best d pad ive ever played with. Even slightly better than the japanese. Saturn controller, which is also awesome

  47. TheMamaluigi300 on December 20, 2020 at 11:12 pm

    I find this to be ridiculously attractive

  48. widdowson91 on December 20, 2020 at 11:13 pm

    Gotta be my favourite controller ever for fighting games.

  49. Burley Ant on December 20, 2020 at 11:15 pm

    That is a very nice controller you got. I can look it up to order it or buy it from the mall. I can also add this 6 button controller to my collection and let my family play with on ms.pac man, sonic the hedgehog 2 and 3, streets of rage, vectorman, or mortal kombat. Nice videos you got

    And thank you:)

  50. beefcurtainz69 on December 20, 2020 at 11:17 pm

    What if the mode button on the top breaks and it can’t be pressed anymore?

Leave a Comment