Classic Game Room HD – BASKETBALL for Atari 2600 review

Classic Game Room HD reviews BASKETBALL for Atari 2600 from 1978. Basketball is a one on one game where players face each other in a battle to the death.. I mean a battle to the highest score!! Shoot the block at the line and hope for the best, it’s basketball! This ancient basketball game shows how far basketball video games have come. Atari Basketball is fun when playing against a friend but suffers from a sloppy computer opponent who cheats and has bad breath. Black on a color television (preferably with wood grain) or black and white, Basketball is simple and easy to play. This CGR review of Basketball has gameplay from Atari 2600 Basketball showing game play in video from this old school retro sports game from back in the day.

50 Comments

  1. pardyhardly on March 16, 2021 at 10:39 pm

    They should have called it "Suck Ball".

  2. William Jacobs on March 16, 2021 at 10:42 pm

    Women aren’t represented because they can’t dunk, but good fundamentals are more fun to watch. (Futurama fans are falling out about now.)

  3. PwCWrestlingVideos on March 16, 2021 at 10:44 pm

    I’m 14 and got an Atari 2600. Gimme thumbs up! I like collecting 2600 games

  4. ⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻⸻ on March 16, 2021 at 10:46 pm

    It’s still enjoyable than most basketball games today lmao

  5. MCBV on March 16, 2021 at 10:46 pm

    Purple man from fnaf playing basketball

  6. Stewart Fullerton on March 16, 2021 at 10:47 pm

    I played this on the Atari 8 bit computer back in the day.

  7. Harry Cardona on March 16, 2021 at 10:47 pm

    Woooo man took awhile for my eyes to go back

  8. Eric_T123 on March 16, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    better than 2k18

  9. doritoconsumer on March 16, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    nba 2k13 or this game

  10. professorpumpp on March 16, 2021 at 10:52 pm

    imagine if you bought a fresh copy of NBA 2K14 and popped it in your 360 or One (Xbox) and this game played instead…lol…

  11. jasonjlaw on March 16, 2021 at 10:53 pm

    Man, thank god Tecmo came along.

  12. Verona Gomez on March 16, 2021 at 10:54 pm

    Damn basketball has tremendous improved

  13. Harry Cardona on March 16, 2021 at 10:54 pm

    Woooo man took awhile for my eyes to go back

  14. Mrs. Cat on March 16, 2021 at 10:55 pm

    Yo is that purple guy from FNAF :O

    Who that green guy tho :/

  15. Cherry Pixel Bun on March 16, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    I really like this game, and I first played it last year on a Flashback 4.

  16. W-machismo on March 16, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    What is this? Purple men can’t jump!?

  17. Soterion Coil on March 16, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    this game used to tork my snookie

  18. Edward Becerra on March 16, 2021 at 10:58 pm

    wow 1978? plays smoother than NBA JAM 99 for the Gameboy

  19. jonas96313 on March 16, 2021 at 10:58 pm

    wow look at nba 2k 1940

  20. arnoldvsthegooch on March 16, 2021 at 11:00 pm

    I just showed my kids nba2k15 and then this. They were both like WTF? I’m fortunate to have grown up with video games. I’m 40 and have owned everything from Atari to a super beast PC. The evolution of video games is simply astounding. Thanks for this video.

  21. jonas96313 on March 16, 2021 at 11:00 pm

    well then nba 2k78

  22. Taylor Clark on March 16, 2021 at 11:04 pm

    THE ORIGINAL 2K

  23. TenHitCombo on March 16, 2021 at 11:09 pm

    Very first game I’ve played.

  24. Daniel Santos on March 16, 2021 at 11:09 pm

    My first console ever…. I loved this game… played it almost till my eyes bleed… 😀

  25. TallAsMen on March 16, 2021 at 11:10 pm

    You mean NBA 1K78

  26. Greg Whitbread on March 16, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    had this game back in about 1981; pretty good fun; be good for a blast today.ahhh memories

  27. FireballJack on March 16, 2021 at 11:13 pm

    Atari is awesome

  28. Daniel Thomas MacInnes on March 16, 2021 at 11:13 pm

    Gotta love that old RF audio static. Yeah, videogames looked like this back then.

  29. Rob Mize on March 16, 2021 at 11:13 pm

    Scored 110 points in this game. Not easy but not impossible. I was so good if I didnt get 100 and turn the score over it was an off game for me.

  30. Wacky-Alien32 on March 16, 2021 at 11:17 pm

    yeah this one is actually very fun to play xD

  31. THANOS El Destructor on March 16, 2021 at 11:17 pm

    K wena canasta :V

  32. Andrew Faletti on March 16, 2021 at 11:17 pm

    @jonas96313 Yeah buddy is there a problem?

  33. Devin Johnson on March 16, 2021 at 11:18 pm

    compare these graphic 2k13 vs this basketball game

  34. José on March 16, 2021 at 11:18 pm

    Watching this in 2018. Still very entertaining. Lord Kardnage kicks ass!

  35. PointyDoor135 on March 16, 2021 at 11:18 pm

    One of the best game reviews of all time.

  36. Bill Dineen on March 16, 2021 at 11:19 pm

    I don’t care what anyone ssays this game is fun my son and I play it and we have a blast it’s simple to play and fun and very competitive. Love the Easeter of being able to do half court shots if you can get the spot just right. and you can keep playing whent he game is over, that alone makes it awesome. LOL

  37. janchapman1969a on March 16, 2021 at 11:19 pm

    I remember this game being shown on the "Airplane" movie

  38. Cyrillion on March 16, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    I’m 25 and I got stabbed by my cat :/

    also my mom ate my foot, now I can’t go skateboarding.

  39. A CONFUSED MAN cx on March 16, 2021 at 11:26 pm

    Your Honor, my client couldn’t have been the man behind the slaughter! He was ballin the entire time!

  40. mdcowboy15 on March 16, 2021 at 11:28 pm

    And still am, two years later.

  41. WETTcomp on March 16, 2021 at 11:28 pm

    This is absolutely my all time fav Atari video game!!

  42. THANOS El Destructor on March 16, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    Space Jam 2

  43. MrPaperllama on March 16, 2021 at 11:30 pm

    I always lolwhen playing this xDDD

  44. Oda Swifteye on March 16, 2021 at 11:30 pm

    Breaking out the translator for this post yields odd results. I have no idea what you are talking about and what it has to do with this video so i’m just going to flag it as spam and call it a day.

  45. PsyBair on March 16, 2021 at 11:33 pm

    im only twelve and call me crazy but this is the best basketball game to date.period.

  46. Endless Wanderer on March 16, 2021 at 11:34 pm

    My brother and I were playing this together on the Flashback and it is a riot. I’m not sure why it was so fun, but we were crying from laughter. All the cheap steals, throws that barely go far, shots that somehow home into the hoop. Haven’t had that much fun with a two-player game since my childhood.

  47. Tedd Jasiczek on March 16, 2021 at 11:34 pm

    You are hope for the VG community my friend.

  48. 提督Tosuto on March 16, 2021 at 11:36 pm

    @SUNNYDude49
    Great to see kids with a REAL taste of games not just CoD

  49. Özgür Karter on March 16, 2021 at 11:37 pm

    Just bought this one with atari tennis today (for about 18USD) in near mint condition. Cant wait to go home to play against myself today. 🙂

  50. Justin Blystone on March 16, 2021 at 11:37 pm

    Lord Karnage is right, this game does look rudimentary by today’s standards.

Leave a Comment