Classic Game Room HD – ATARI 2600 KEYBOARD controller review

Watch in High Definition. Classic Game Room HD reviews the Atari 2600 Keyboard Controller for the Atari VCS video computer system! This keyboard controller has number keys on it (like a telephone or calculator!) and works with games like Memory Match, A Game of Concentration, Codebreaker and Basic Programming. This is an old school piece of Atari hardware and a unique, collectable accessory for the venerable VCS. Push buttons and watch numbers and stuff appear and change on screen. You can even carry them in your pocket and show them off to friends and be like “hey bitches, check out my Atari keyboard controllers!”. Impress friends, make enemies, play Atari. All in a day’s work here at Classic Game Room. Your source for classic and new video game reviews and hardware reviews.

50 Comments

  1. mtgan on December 3, 2019 at 2:30 am

    @HOLYSHITITSADOUBLERA It got me off it.

  2. A Player 69 on December 3, 2019 at 2:30 am

    I HOPE YOURS TOO!

  3. Ethan Cole on December 3, 2019 at 2:31 am

    OVER 9000

  4. KeyboardKrazy49 on December 3, 2019 at 2:32 am

    Do you know if this works the same way as the video touch pad controller and if I’m not mistaken I think star raiders was one of the games that the video touch pad was compatible with

  5. Woll Smoth on December 3, 2019 at 2:32 am

    nice light saber wait… thats your like bar

  6. blazefirer on December 3, 2019 at 2:34 am

    Atari i am going to buy a 100000 keyboard controllers from you now to make a bridge. I would get working on manufacturing them now.

  7. Optimalillusion on December 3, 2019 at 2:34 am

    I have the keypad that came with Star Raiders. No cool numbers, relies too much on plastic overlays.

  8. Viktor Škifić on December 3, 2019 at 2:37 am

    you wouldn’t be able to build a bridge coz you don’t have enough slots xD

  9. Nikola fucking Tesla on December 3, 2019 at 2:37 am

    now i wouldn’t say a box. it looks mor like ___________ kinda shape. a parallelogram

  10. Ireland Deity on December 3, 2019 at 2:41 am

    Atari 2600 was so fantastic for it’s day, and still is even now. The fact that we had these kinds of peripherals out on such an ancient games console is incredible. I have a boxed Atari 2600 with these keyboards, paddles, controllers and even the touch pad with inlays that was used with Star Raiders and a few games that are still sealed in the shrink wrap, among other games and stuff. I love the old consoles as much as I love my Xbox One and Playstation 4 etc.

  11. Daniel Reddington on December 3, 2019 at 2:42 am

    ‘The buttons feel like…..Buttons, there isn’t much i can say about that.’

  12. Eric H. on December 3, 2019 at 2:43 am

    Do you need to have 2 of these in order to play the keyboard games on the atari 2600?

  13. MC 808 on December 3, 2019 at 2:44 am

    Well, I started doing coke so I could go on a CGR binge for 7 days without sleep….

  14. Pencerification on December 3, 2019 at 2:44 am

    lol you could build a bridge out of these

  15. ZiKoN22 on December 3, 2019 at 2:45 am

    whats with the dumb carnival music in the background?? shouldn’t they play something like THE MUSIC FOR THE FREAKING GAME! jeez….come on, atleast introduce some games for the keyboard.

  16. Robert Lopresti on December 3, 2019 at 2:47 am

    I had two programs for the Atari 2600 that requires a keyboard controller: Sears’ MEMORY MATCH and Atari’s CODEBREAKER.

  17. soisyourface1234 on December 3, 2019 at 2:54 am

    does this work on a Sega Genesis

  18. Nikola fucking Tesla on December 3, 2019 at 2:54 am

    I KNEW THERE WAS A WORD FOR IT!!!

  19. ö. . , on December 3, 2019 at 2:56 am

    Where to put in the credit card in this thing, for online banking?

    🙂

  20. tbb033 on December 3, 2019 at 2:56 am

    That’s a keyPAD not a keyboard, silly atari.

  21. BAZFANSHOTHITS on December 3, 2019 at 2:57 am

    It even has the Star and Hash key. Now thats cool.

  22. Nikola fucking Tesla on December 3, 2019 at 2:58 am

    MagnaVOX. it is called a Magnvox Odyssey. as in: the great great great graet grandfather of home console gaming

  23. WebVMan on December 3, 2019 at 3:00 am

    People must have been shocked back then to see so many buttons.

  24. fudder on December 3, 2019 at 3:00 am

    I like this guy simply because he lacks a potty mouth

  25. Subhell666 on December 3, 2019 at 3:01 am

    Good review

  26. Justin Blystone on December 3, 2019 at 3:01 am

    I suppose that the keyboard controller came out in response to the new Odyssey 2.

  27. WHATISUTUBE on December 3, 2019 at 3:02 am

    WHY THE FUCK IS EVERYTHING YOU SAY SO DAMN ENTERTAINING.

  28. All Access Gaming on December 3, 2019 at 3:06 am

    A number sign? Don’t you mean a hashtag Mark?

  29. Ryan Linhart on December 3, 2019 at 3:07 am

    how epic would it be if you had enough to rap around earth

  30. Ice Kold Killa on December 3, 2019 at 3:08 am

    @MrSaturn33 I like your pic xD

  31. Towin13 on December 3, 2019 at 3:08 am

    Atari is cool,but very old

  32. shmoozii on December 3, 2019 at 3:09 am

    well it looks like i have chicken pox. might as well sit back and watch cgr all day

  33. FLININJAchop-VEGA on December 3, 2019 at 3:09 am

    OVER 9000 KEYBOARD CONTROLLERS!

  34. WebVMan on December 3, 2019 at 3:13 am

    8 Tele-Games? Where is the cartridge that contains OVER NINE THOUSAND?!!!

  35. Timothy E. on December 3, 2019 at 3:13 am

    @TheWalrusMeat That’s just regular space music.

  36. JPhands on December 3, 2019 at 3:16 am

    Review A Game of Concentration.

  37. Sean Mondout on December 3, 2019 at 3:16 am

    Didn’t show any footage of actually using the damned thing. Some review. But hey! At least he gets a tax deduction now for having purchased them.

  38. studio2television on December 3, 2019 at 3:17 am

    my new favourite peripheral!

  39. DarkerSuper on December 3, 2019 at 3:17 am

    This is a really, really good review. I have a strange attachment for Atari, as it was my first game system (as late as 1998). If you do any more reviews based on Atari, I would like to see the Starpath Supercharger.
    I found it interesting, while searching for Atari supplies online that "Stella" happens to be the name of a widely-known 2600 emulator, as well as the code name for the Atari 3200. Whether this is a coincidence, I may never know.
    Oh, and 200th comment. Congratulations!

  40. Jomaster The Second on December 3, 2019 at 3:19 am

    It’s not even a keyboard!!

  41. mjammal10 on December 3, 2019 at 3:19 am

    We need 2,600 atari 2600 keyboards

  42. Friggen Mark on December 3, 2019 at 3:20 am

    Thanks for helping us with that basic math

  43. adam ford on December 3, 2019 at 3:20 am

    These reviews are awesome ! Thanks for keeping the reviews coming Mark. Your videos give me a reason to live.

  44. HANKSPOOP on December 3, 2019 at 3:21 am

    youd be surprised. he will random cuss games out

  45. The Slim J.D on December 3, 2019 at 3:24 am

    Is the video touchpad the same thing?

  46. Deed Drivgk on December 3, 2019 at 3:24 am

    this guy……………… needs a girlfriend

  47. pepper d on December 3, 2019 at 3:26 am

    holy shit 24

  48. Woll Smoth on December 3, 2019 at 3:26 am

    nice light saber, wait… thats your like bar

  49. A Player 69 on December 3, 2019 at 3:27 am

    thumbs up if u think cocaine is better than this guys shit

  50. L Garagem on December 3, 2019 at 3:28 am

    @ImJustAwsomeDan Just Epic. "there isn’t much i can say about that"

Leave a Comment