Classic Game Room – ATARI 2600 joystick controller review

Atari 2600 controller review. http://www.ClassicGameRoom.com
Shop CGR shirts & hats! http://www.CGRstore.com
Classic Game Room reviews the standard, single button, single joystick ATARI 2600 controller. This is the iconic controller that so many of us grew up with back in the 70’s and 80’s. These came with the Atari 2600 VCS video computer system over here in the United States of America. Durable, cheap and plentiful, you should have no problem finding one of these for sale extremely cheap. Works well with games like Mario Bros. Brothers on the Atari, Donkey Kong, Yars’ Revenge, Frogger, Vanguard and Pac Man. You ain’t cool unless you have one of these controllers. Nothing says I’m into old school retro awesome classic video games like breaking one of these things out at a party. You can even mix a cocktail with it.

50 Comments

  1. Richard Harris on December 25, 2020 at 10:27 pm

    I agree, never had one as a kid, so I find it far too stiff to use for long without getting frustrated. The Megadrive/Genesis controller plays much much better on the atari 2600. But from a history stand point its a very interesting controller.

  2. Diogo Marques on December 25, 2020 at 10:27 pm

    there might be a mod where the circuitry on the joystick is inverted so top is bottom etc but I dont think there is an official release

  3. Ravenger on December 25, 2020 at 10:28 pm

    @92soothsayer Unscrew it and see if the plastic part if cracked. If it is, tape it, or find a glue, but honestly, any fix will only be temporary. Once they start to go, it’s just a matter of time. You should get about a couple of months after fixing it. Look for a new one if possible.

  4. Max Jonas Knaver on December 25, 2020 at 10:29 pm

    @gillianorley My NES begs to differ…

  5. cdsmetalhead99 on December 25, 2020 at 10:29 pm

    And then there is the Intellivision controller with its 16 buttons and 16-direction disc.

  6. Stewart Fullerton on December 25, 2020 at 10:30 pm

    Im left handed so I find it impossible to use this controller.

  7. wildsmiley on December 25, 2020 at 10:32 pm

    @Xaiv55 I like it that way. Works good.

  8. PassCookie on December 25, 2020 at 10:32 pm

    are the 86p1 and the gs11 good?

  9. artman40 on December 25, 2020 at 10:32 pm

    This controller could be improved by replacing the big stick with a small analogue stick similar to modern controllers. Then move the button to the side. This would allow you to hold the controller with one hand. I don’t know though if technology could have allowed to make the controller small enough for the time.

  10. Bob Junior on December 25, 2020 at 10:33 pm

    lol, the joystick is a little stiff

  11. untseac on December 25, 2020 at 10:34 pm

    must be great for God of War. Has all the necessary buttons.

  12. Andrew Smith on December 25, 2020 at 10:36 pm

    Can you use a atari paddle for games that say use the atari joystick?

  13. adam ford on December 25, 2020 at 10:36 pm

    You reviewed the CX- 40 controller, the CX-10 deluxe version is much nicer!

  14. tHeWasTeDYouTh on December 25, 2020 at 10:37 pm

    I FINGER MY GF WITH THE ATARI 2600 CONTROLLER

    HARDCORE

  15. Mita Ilić on December 25, 2020 at 10:41 pm

    Does it worl on segabgenesis

  16. The Outlet on December 25, 2020 at 10:41 pm

    Is this controller have analog? Or is it just 8 directions?

  17. aMondia on December 25, 2020 at 10:42 pm

    I’m not a huge fan of the joystick on this thing, I prefer the C64 joystick.

  18. 1C3 P1CK on December 25, 2020 at 10:44 pm

    That’s what I met. Oops.

  19. NotLong Official on December 25, 2020 at 10:44 pm

    The length of the stick when useing your thumb with the old games is so good, it’s like having one giant Kontrol freak like other control types have to make the sticks longer

  20. Jeremy Thompson on December 25, 2020 at 10:44 pm

    VIRAL DOG!!

  21. Phr4ktur3 on December 25, 2020 at 10:44 pm

    Hi, I’ll have a quick question for you: the Atari 2600 style "wooden" Does walking on European television? For if I am not mistaken, in Europe, there is the style "black "that was released …
    (Grieve if spelling mistakes, I use Goggle translation)

  22. Gary Castro on December 25, 2020 at 10:45 pm

    in most of his game reviews he does… not his console reviews.

  23. Larry1980s on December 25, 2020 at 10:46 pm

    mine too Id also use that joystick on my commodore 64

  24. mrmimeisfunny on December 25, 2020 at 10:48 pm

    couldnt say it better

  25. 1C3 P1CK on December 25, 2020 at 10:52 pm

    Yes, I was referring to the yellow ring and thanks for the tip! 🙂

  26. Mr. Atari 2600 on December 25, 2020 at 10:53 pm

    @GeneralPlant if in my mind it would look like WOLF3D but with no texture and just colors

  27. jcrowley1985 on December 25, 2020 at 10:53 pm

    The early controllers that came with "heavy sixer" ataris did not have "top" written on them. Atari added that later because people were too stupid to hold their controller right.

  28. The Outlet on December 25, 2020 at 10:55 pm

    This controller is so stiff.

  29. 1947DFC on December 25, 2020 at 10:55 pm

    Remember when my dad and uncle had this then i got nintendo then PS1 ,PS2 , 3 and 4 . Best memories were on ps1

  30. MoldyWater05 on December 25, 2020 at 10:58 pm

    Imagine attaching 2 of these sticks onto an Xbox controller and playing skate 3 with how stiff they are

  31. CosmicUprise on December 25, 2020 at 10:59 pm

    watch his gamer grub review.

  32. TheGame on December 25, 2020 at 11:01 pm

    I have broken a few of those. They used to break at the base of the stick itself.

  33. Garrett 'McOuchies' Cummings on December 25, 2020 at 11:02 pm

    Yeah a lot of people see the controller some place, some time, but don’t know it’s an Atari 2600 Joystick

  34. Faia II on December 25, 2020 at 11:03 pm

    The Atari 2600 Joystick controller sucks!

  35. Nicholas Perl on December 25, 2020 at 11:06 pm

    Wow, your voice got a lot deeper!

  36. DirtyKameSennin on December 25, 2020 at 11:07 pm

    Yeah, things like this are needed for american and british people, ’cause if nobody tells them that it’s not allowed to put cats into microweave oven to dry and when the poor thing dies they sue the company ’cause they never said that this will kill the poor animal and win millions in court.

  37. The Outlet on December 25, 2020 at 11:09 pm

    *Does

  38. Minecraft OFP857 on December 25, 2020 at 11:10 pm

    Just the 8 directions. It’s actually 4 directions, but it has the ability for 2 simoultanious directions.

  39. 1C3 P1CK on December 25, 2020 at 11:10 pm

    I bought an Atari 2600 for my collection from a thrift store and the controllers are missing the rubber feet and don’t have the color on the controller.

  40. roosteemon on December 25, 2020 at 11:11 pm

    thats an awsome dog

  41. wildsmiley on December 25, 2020 at 11:13 pm

    @world295 HAHA Funniest thing I’ve read in a long tome.

  42. Isaac Pokryska on December 25, 2020 at 11:15 pm

    @Ziikuje you must not be a happy person

  43. Jacopo Girardi on December 25, 2020 at 11:17 pm

    imaginate playing dark soul with this controller xD

  44. RIGENSTEIN on December 25, 2020 at 11:19 pm

    The intro song with the black screen made me think of a low budget BUT very hot porno on a tropical setting I watched once and made me smile and get hard. Take that as a compliment my friend.

  45. MKikoGaming on December 25, 2020 at 11:21 pm

    whats the intro music

  46. 92soothsayer on December 25, 2020 at 11:21 pm

    any1 know how to fix it if the down direction isnt working? if my characters in my games arent moving downward?

  47. cdsmetalhead99 on December 25, 2020 at 11:22 pm

    The controllers that came with the Vader Models didn’t have the yellow ring around the joystick; it was a black ring (assuming you were referring to the yellow ring).

  48. usquanigo on December 25, 2020 at 11:23 pm

    Mark, do you have the wireless 2600 controller? I had a set for mine. (So pissed that all my 2600 stuff got thrown away) They were the same thing with a huge (thick) base, and a thick spring antenna pointing out the front. Powered by a 9 Volt battery. Really cool.

    And people think wireless controllers are recent breakthroughs. hehe 🙂

  49. MrEpicfailness on December 25, 2020 at 11:23 pm

    GET OUT

  50. Original Misfit on December 25, 2020 at 11:23 pm

    the first 30 seconds of this video should have been the whole video

Leave a Comment