CGR Undertow – D review for PlayStation

D review. http://www.ClassicGameRoom.com
Shop CGR shirts & mugs! http://www.CGRstore.com
Classic Game Room presents a CGR Undertow review of The D for the PlayStation developed by Warp and published by Acclaim.

D is a horror game in the form of a Myst clone by the infamous game designer Kenji Eno. Eno, who passed away in early 2013, was a rock star game designer, and even though he made a few games, his personality and presence was well known throughout the game industry.

D was developed by Eno’s studio Warp, and published by Acclaim. The game has players exploring rooms of a medieval castle, collecting keys, and solving puzzles all in the first-person perspective. The game’s graphics are FMV-styled and its soundtrack is minimal. There aren’t any enemies except for one fight sequence with a suit of armor. The game must also be completed within a two-hour time limit.

This video review features video gameplay footage of D for the PlayStation and audio commentary from Classic Game Room’s Adam.

50 Comments

  1. Metal_Lion1 on December 9, 2020 at 9:48 pm

    What happens after the 2 hour time limit? I’ve tried to look it up but couldn’t find anything

  2. Jason Mabone on December 9, 2020 at 9:49 pm

    There’s also N and 9.

  3. Old and New Gamer on December 9, 2020 at 9:50 pm

    I might actually pick this game up, I’ve wanted to try it out for years

  4. Vitor Machado on December 9, 2020 at 9:50 pm

    Feels completely dated now, but back then as a kid this game was pretty atmospheric.

  5. Taricus, Lord Rex on December 9, 2020 at 9:51 pm

    I actually enjoyed this game throughout the 90’s. While I do agree that it hasn’t aged terribly well, it is still worth playing if it can be picked up for a relatively low price. Nevertheless it is an acquired taste, and some modern gamers might be put off by its sluggish pacing. While the unrelated sequel D2 for the Dreamcast has better gameplay, this first entry into the series is worth a gander every now and then.

  6. Colton Stacy on December 9, 2020 at 9:52 pm

    Shitty review skip this vid

  7. Blue is Not a Warm Colour on December 9, 2020 at 9:52 pm

    ah, but you see, the first comment said it was the shortest and you said no. really, D and X are both the shortest. MEANINGLESS GRAMMAR DISSECTION!!!

  8. Stephen Csoma on December 9, 2020 at 9:52 pm

    I used to play the shit out of this on pc

  9. Phiniox Glade on December 9, 2020 at 9:57 pm

    I had this game back in the day, I never finished it can I got stuck on the knight every time

  10. Slionr on December 9, 2020 at 9:57 pm

    I do enjoy it 🙂 it is a unique experience, and I like that you have a timer that shows you have only 2 house to finish the game. There is no save and no PAUSE either X3
    So yes, it is short, but unsettling and creepy in my eyes ;O

    Its far from a great game, but for one halloween-night, its well worth a look=)

  11. Kurumi Gokou on December 9, 2020 at 9:58 pm

    Hello
    Where I can find this game
    I’m crazy about it

  12. Death Adder on December 9, 2020 at 9:58 pm

    LOL dumbass,

  13. Dija's Vid Dump on December 9, 2020 at 10:03 pm

    Nooo, don’t skip D! Sure, after playing it for the first time there is no reason to replay it within the next few years. But playing it in the dark for the first time is incredible and can be pretty spooky. And do yourself the favor and don’t watch Gameplay or read about it. I got the ending spoiled before finishing it and it kind of ruined it.

  14. Miguel Alves on December 9, 2020 at 10:04 pm

    back in the day this game was good .. the graphics was kind of jaw dropping at the time and the atmosphere pretty spooky, sad thing is you can finish this game in an hour or less and you have only 2 different endings ( kill the dracula or join him ) after that there is nothing else to do. but at the time this game was unique  

  15. flolik on December 9, 2020 at 10:05 pm

    she wants the D

  16. Steamed Aurora Borealis on December 9, 2020 at 10:07 pm

    Laura’s facial expressions are so nonchalant. Like, she looks like she’s legitimately too stupid to realize the situation she’s in. To her this is as trivial as walking down the produce aisle.

  17. quiet99tony on December 9, 2020 at 10:08 pm

    rubbish review

  18. Karen, The Legend on December 9, 2020 at 10:08 pm

    Who’s Haideyo Kojima?

  19. Androxilogin on December 9, 2020 at 10:08 pm

    What a shit review. Damn kids with their Halos and Call of Dutys. Keep in mind, this guy also gave "The Mummy"
    on PS1 a good review..

  20. Tim Madone on December 9, 2020 at 10:09 pm

    "Flopon The Space Mutant" from 1994 was the first official release from WARP, not "D". There are several reasons to re-play this game. Some of which include seeing both endings & also seeing the 10 different places that you can get the beetles to appear. This might require you to play through the game 20 to 30 ( or more ) times in order to see all of them. The design of the inside of the castle is based on actual locations inside some of the castles that Kenji Eno visited when he went to Europe. The outside of the castle that we see behind the title is based on Bran Castle. Vlad Dracula actually had control over several castles during his time in power. This included Bran Castle as well as the castle he ended up being held as a prisoner, Hunedoara Castle. "D" was originally going to be a SNES ( Super Famicon ) game during it’s early stages of development. Kenji Eno was really a "one man show" when it came to his games & especially his music. Although he had help from his team at WARP, he did the work of several people & everything that was done by other people at WARP was done under his direction. No wonder he was burned out by the time "D2" was released. If only he was still here to bring Laura out of retirement for "D3".

  21. Dixon Butts on December 9, 2020 at 10:10 pm

    This is a terrible game.
    Short, boring, slower than a crawl.
    It was never worth playing in the 1st place. Anyone saying otherwise is simply nostalgic because it’s the only game they owned at the time & formed gaming’s Stockholm syndrome.
    DO NOT try to find this game & play it!
    You’re welcome.

  22. Living Rad on December 9, 2020 at 10:10 pm

    Shitty game, good review!

  23. Chabrakaew LaiLa on December 9, 2020 at 10:10 pm

    it’s game i like. i age 17 year old hahaha

  24. Hossi Blumengaarten on December 9, 2020 at 10:13 pm

    I love this fucking game, at the end it is amazing

    all along, fucking Dracula

    D of course but no one got it until the end, guy that made this game was pretty based

  25. dersteppenokani on December 9, 2020 at 10:15 pm

    This is why I love CGR it really reviews everything o/

  26. djpcan77 on December 9, 2020 at 10:15 pm

    It’s a great story it’s worth a play

  27. Hezekiah Ramirez on December 9, 2020 at 10:17 pm

    He’s much more thorough and in-depth. These are just short reviews to help you decide whether to buy the games or not.

  28. Leander Herman on December 9, 2020 at 10:19 pm

    This game used to creep me out

  29. Stranno on December 9, 2020 at 10:21 pm

    No. There’s X for Gameboy, an Argonaut Software game, the -lets call it- prequel to Starfox series. More like a technical demo.

  30. Rockmans1989 on December 9, 2020 at 10:23 pm

    R.I.P. Kenji Eno. Please review D2 for Dreamcast!!

  31. Rowlo Eightyeight on December 9, 2020 at 10:24 pm

    D was an amazing game, ahead of its time you assholes

  32. Jacob Pettit on December 9, 2020 at 10:24 pm

    LAURA… Lol on the game

  33. super kami guru on December 9, 2020 at 10:25 pm

    is the pc port gud

  34. dvon1097 on December 9, 2020 at 10:25 pm

    Review that D

  35. Stranno on December 9, 2020 at 10:25 pm

    Then D its not the shortest. I didnt say is shorter …

  36. CornishCreamtea07 on December 9, 2020 at 10:27 pm

    He grows them in his garden

  37. Blue is Not a Warm Colour on December 9, 2020 at 10:28 pm

    it’s not shorter, it’s the same.

  38. dogeymon83 on December 9, 2020 at 10:29 pm

    A needlessly negative video…..today’s reviewers are so ADD that they look at a slow moving experience as being a factor that makes a game worth skipping. Learn some patience for eff sake! The slow moving pace of the game is what adds to the tension and the scary atmosphere. I didn’t have a problem with it. I got really into this as a teen and it was a very spooky experience. It’s a classic.

  39. Blacktime E-Press on December 9, 2020 at 10:29 pm

    The creator of Metal Gear Solid and Zone of the Enders

  40. GonzoGaming on December 9, 2020 at 10:29 pm

    This game… looks… painful. I’m sorry for the reviewer.

  41. Jason Grant on December 9, 2020 at 10:30 pm

    Hideo Kojima.

  42. Jacob Pettit on December 9, 2020 at 10:31 pm

    Olde school 😁

  43. zeno slime on December 9, 2020 at 10:31 pm

    hai dio kojima

  44. Dwayne Cedillos on December 9, 2020 at 10:32 pm

    I wanted to get this game D for Sega Saturn and may be for the Playstation 1 for little moment than I sell it. Mostly I want to it for the Sega Saturn better.

  45. TheEdoubleP on December 9, 2020 at 10:34 pm

    😳

  46. missrebbel on December 9, 2020 at 10:35 pm

    Wow i played this game as a child and then it was scary and cool but i never got to finish it .. a part of me would like to now that im older

  47. Vyse220 on December 9, 2020 at 10:37 pm

    I’ve D2 for my dreamcast, I think it’s a pretty well done game after all

  48. Rimone Media on December 9, 2020 at 10:38 pm

    The mirror scene was scary as shit!

  49. baggywhiskers on December 9, 2020 at 10:39 pm

    That scene where the hand reached out of the mirror scared the hell out of me the very first time.

  50. BillyBet YT on December 9, 2020 at 10:42 pm

    I got stuck in this game and never finished it. In its day it was campy enough to be considered a cult classic. D was kind of like its generation of games Deadly Premonition, where people aren’t sure what to make of it.

Leave a Comment