Atari Flashback Portable Review!

One of the holy grails of old-school gamers has long been a handheld Atari VCS/2600. Well, now we’ve got one, courtesy of AtGames and their Flashback line. In this video, I review the the Atari Flashback Portable, which includes 60 built-in games and an SD card slot to add your own.

Want one? Help me out and use my Amazon link: http://amzn.to/2obO4wt

The Flashback Portable FAQ mentioned in the video: http://atariage.com/forums/topic/258970-atari-flashback-portable-faq-and-compatibility-list/
John Hancock’s channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/swlovinist

Subscribe to my channel: http://www.youtube.com/c/ModernClassic?sub_confirmation=1

Support me directly on Patreon!: http://www.patreon.com/modernclassic

Follow me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/modernclassicchannel/

And Twitter:
http://www.twitter.com/modernclassicyt

50 Comments

  1. Dillon Nicholas on December 12, 2020 at 9:53 pm

    take it apart and swap the shells so the genesis one looks like a genesis controller

  2. Video Game Sanctuary on December 12, 2020 at 9:54 pm

    I’ve got a Sega Portable and I tried using a 3.5 audio cable so I can play it on my TV but it didn’t work, i tested the cable and that’s not the problem. Any suggestions?

  3. Nintendo Bubble on December 12, 2020 at 9:55 pm

    For a moment I thought you were Duke nukem!

    Great review!

  4. TheRealStoney on December 12, 2020 at 9:57 pm

    I got one from my apartment dumpster still in box not even used

  5. Christopher J. Zayachkowski on December 12, 2020 at 9:58 pm

    Awesome! I want one.

  6. Kevin R. on December 12, 2020 at 9:58 pm

    Is this Mike from AVGN, in the future?

  7. Randy Orton on December 12, 2020 at 9:58 pm

    this is bullshit

  8. David Sapir on December 12, 2020 at 9:59 pm

    The Atari 2600 games are so graphically primitive and have such basic one dimensional controls by today’s gaming standards that they’re almost "too retro" to be enjoyable games to play. For retro gaming, my GPD XD is still the best all around retro portable I’ve ever played in terms of price, performance, control layout, game library and build quality.

  9. Edward Brocklesby on December 12, 2020 at 10:00 pm

    can it play paddle games?

  10. tallmanT14 on December 12, 2020 at 10:00 pm

    Nice.

  11. intel386DX on December 12, 2020 at 10:01 pm

    9:40 what is the name of this game? 🙂

  12. Donald Salkovick on December 12, 2020 at 10:04 pm

    Screw John Hancock he’s nothing special quit kissing his pickle. And whoop d shit about the packing it was adequate don’t cry "fortunately mine wasn’t damaged "

  13. Vicious Alien Klown on December 12, 2020 at 10:05 pm

    I bought the Sega Genesis version from AtGames. I did a video review of it here at Youtube. I might buy this one soon.

  14. Cardboardguy 14 on December 12, 2020 at 10:05 pm

    But….. can it run DOOM?

  15. BluePhoenix YT on December 12, 2020 at 10:07 pm

    Is it possible to for it to run gba games?

  16. The Gamer Guy on December 12, 2020 at 10:11 pm

    I have the box with Pac-Man on it and it looks different

  17. Lilburn Marcum on December 12, 2020 at 10:12 pm

    Great review.
    I am very nostalgic for the game Xevious because a dear friend who is no longer with us would play that with me many many nights in my teens

  18. ncf1 on December 12, 2020 at 10:15 pm

    good review, well done.

  19. David Jr on December 12, 2020 at 10:15 pm

    I just got one from ebay for $13.00

  20. Dylan Pierce Crowley. 20000 on December 12, 2020 at 10:17 pm

    Flash. Back. Game. Dylan. Pierce. Crowley. My. You Hi My. You. Get. One. My. Is

  21. llanera skull on December 12, 2020 at 10:18 pm

    Does it have battlezone?

  22. Kevin Barton on December 12, 2020 at 10:19 pm

    I hope they bring out the Atari 7800 Flashback with all the built in games as that option.

  23. PrulzyTomzy on December 12, 2020 at 10:19 pm

    what about 2600 emulator on android. which one is the best? i like 2600 games simple and very playable games.

  24. Mimikyu-BackedBySilver on December 12, 2020 at 10:20 pm

    Just saw this for the first time today. $40 @ Dollar General. I didn’t even know it existed.

  25. a2pha on December 12, 2020 at 10:24 pm

    Most Atari emulators have trouble with BEAMRIDER. How does this unit do ?

  26. whats really going on on December 12, 2020 at 10:25 pm

    why 6 buttons my atari had only one

  27. James Barton on December 12, 2020 at 10:25 pm

    I had an Atari 2600 as a kid. I never had 5200 or 7800. I’ve watched videos on 7800 and I’d like to play some of those. I’m wanting to play Sega’s SG-1000 and master system as well. My cousin Craig had the Master System. I only played it once at his place, but even as a little kid I could I tell it had better specs than NES. I’ll try these through emulation first then if I’m into them I’ll perhaps buy the actual console or a clone.

  28. Seadweller451D on December 12, 2020 at 10:27 pm

    Können Sie empfehlen Medikamente für Furz und Durchfall?

  29. Sgt. Pecker Puncher on December 12, 2020 at 10:30 pm

    Does it have E.T lol

  30. علي العراقي on December 12, 2020 at 10:30 pm

    ووووواو

  31. danmolition on December 12, 2020 at 10:31 pm

    Good review.. Gonna share your video for support

  32. John Bearce on December 12, 2020 at 10:31 pm

    Do you have amazon affiliation? You ought to consider it for these product reviews

  33. OLDHAWS on December 12, 2020 at 10:32 pm

    How do you play vs the computer on COMBAT?

  34. Bunyon Snipe on December 12, 2020 at 10:33 pm

    No such thing as Too Halloweeny! 🙂

  35. Sharptooth100 on December 12, 2020 at 10:37 pm

    The problem is, it does not do 2 players on that portable even in the Atari Bowling game which I try as the issue.

  36. TheRussianSonyVegasLogoAndVideoEditor12 on December 12, 2020 at 10:37 pm

    I have one

  37. The 1-Up_Triforce on December 12, 2020 at 10:37 pm

    I find your statement about you needing to be wrapped in the nostalgia to really appreciate Atari is absolutely false. I never grew up with Atari i have no connection to it in terms of nostalgia my first console was a Nintendo 64 but I love Atari. I will admit it takes some getting used to especially if you are a modern gamer . But Atari is like any good book once you relax your mind and turn yourself off to all the distractions around you and actually sit and let it take you it can make your imagination run wild. There is no better feeling than playing Atari on a rainy night or to the sounds of crickets out your window.

  38. Randy Orton on December 12, 2020 at 10:39 pm

    worst console ever

  39. Prepare2Qualify on December 12, 2020 at 10:40 pm

    They had two 2600 froggers the advanced one was the Sega version, they had that on a actual cart.

  40. America TheBeautiful on December 12, 2020 at 10:40 pm

    space invaders was one of my favs… too bad.. is there a 1942 and Galaga ? Thanks

  41. Renato Zorete on December 12, 2020 at 10:40 pm

    *ATARI POR SIEMPRE (ATARI FOR EVER)*

    PD: EL MIO ES LA VERSION 2.0 Y 70 BUILT IN GAMES + SMD*

  42. Youtube Pizzer on December 12, 2020 at 10:41 pm

    what the hell do you need a output from the portable for
    emulate it, it looks better. The whole reason you buy that thing is for the buttons and the portable

  43. Mudkip909 on December 12, 2020 at 10:43 pm

    u sound like LgR

  44. PK Hsiung on December 12, 2020 at 10:44 pm

    Hello, We now have a wood grain one could we send you a review sample?

  45. Eric Rosner on December 12, 2020 at 10:45 pm

    Can you run mame games via sd card?

  46. Tampajoe77 on December 12, 2020 at 10:45 pm

    They should have built the paddle right into the joystick back in the day.. a little turn wheel on the base would have been all the rage..

  47. Joseph Altman on December 12, 2020 at 10:50 pm

    Updated? More like downgraded. 😂

  48. Jody Dennis on December 12, 2020 at 10:50 pm

    I would like this if shown how to hook up the cables from the tv, to make it cordless as i tried to connect the game, was complicated. A vidio would be great.

  49. Nic Fazio on December 12, 2020 at 10:51 pm

    There’s a company called At games that made one of these as a Sega genisis.seems they use same moldings.or maybe these can be modified for different consoles

  50. Teemu Myyryläinen on December 12, 2020 at 10:52 pm

    what you have there sir , is an good example of chinese knock off product. bad screen, bad plastic, bad battery list goes on and on… its not just different cardboard box you got the device in,, its compeltly different machine aswell.

Leave a Comment