Atari Flashback 9 First Review: New Games plus SD card slot!

First Review! The Flashback 9 offers many of the great enhancements of the Flashback 8 gold, but offers them at at cheaper price. This budget console offers 110 Atari Games with some new additions this year as well as including many Activision and Atari classics. With a suggested retail price of $59.99, the Flashback 9 will be available in October at major retailers.
Paypal: https://www.paypal.me/JohnHancock
Patreon : https://www.patreon.com/swlovinist
Join My Collectors Group: http://bit.ly/2JcLX5z

This product was provided by Atgames for reviewing purposes.

50 Comments

  1. SevenDeMagnus on December 6, 2020 at 9:35 pm

    Cool. Frogger looks great, like a Famicom.

  2. ThePbrook1967 on December 6, 2020 at 9:38 pm

    So u can play games FROM an sd card?

  3. Hereward of Liverpool on December 6, 2020 at 9:41 pm

    COULD YOU FLICK THROUGH THE GAMES LIST A LITTLE QUICKER NEXT TIME BECAUSE i FEEL THAT i NEVER MISSED ENOUGH OF THEM.

  4. Kedamono Wolf on December 6, 2020 at 9:41 pm

    I just got this!

  5. Steve Sloan on December 6, 2020 at 9:46 pm

    What about snoopy vs the red baron or xvious?

  6. Kyoji Kasshu on December 6, 2020 at 9:47 pm

    Kind of funny that the controller ports end up emulating the design of the Atari 400/800 computers.

  7. Dale Dotson on December 6, 2020 at 9:48 pm

    hey so i tried to do the firmware update on my dads and his wont read the card or try and update its a 16 gb sd card and i got it to work on my atari 9 gold but not his regular

  8. Seth Bohler on December 6, 2020 at 9:48 pm

    i got it for Christmas.

  9. MJ Production on December 6, 2020 at 9:49 pm

    You sound like John C. Reilly.

  10. arturo gutierrez on December 6, 2020 at 9:49 pm

    Tiene que tener la memoria

  11. Lachlant1984 on December 6, 2020 at 9:50 pm

    Who is this Flashback console made by? Weren’t the older ones made by ATGames?

  12. S. Strength on December 6, 2020 at 9:50 pm

    Does pacman come on it?

  13. jublywubly on December 6, 2020 at 9:51 pm

    Thanks for the great review. I really hope we’ll be able to add ROMs of old games, via an SD card. Personally, I like that they haven’t included an HDMI cable. It keeps the price down. A lot of people will already have a spare HDMI cable (including myself). It also means we can use a decent cable instead of them adding a low quality cheapo one.

  14. Kontentsu on December 6, 2020 at 9:51 pm

    wow That’s a lot of games

  15. Greg Douglass on December 6, 2020 at 9:51 pm

    But does it have Custers Revenge?

  16. Eric Dozier on December 6, 2020 at 9:51 pm

    Quick question. When I turn my unit on I don’t get the menu. Don’t have to have an SD card installed or is there something I need to upgrade.

  17. clinton white on December 6, 2020 at 9:52 pm

    I LOVED IT

  18. Kirk State on December 6, 2020 at 9:55 pm

    Missile Command ?

  19. Seth Bohler on December 6, 2020 at 9:55 pm

    what u should do since it doesn’t have a cable is use a dvd player hdmi cable

  20. Howard Gould on December 6, 2020 at 9:56 pm

    Nice review, this brought back many memories. Kids today never had it so good with today’s games!!

  21. William Kopko on December 6, 2020 at 9:57 pm

    Do u have a list of the games sir?

  22. G123 on December 6, 2020 at 9:59 pm

    The IMMORTAL John Hancock 💯

  23. Dora The Explorer and Unikitty! Fan 2020 on December 6, 2020 at 10:01 pm

    I’d played Space Invaders now 12/27/2018!

  24. Squeaks 294 on December 6, 2020 at 10:01 pm

    Is the flashback 9 better than the flashback 8

  25. Cameron McBride on December 6, 2020 at 10:02 pm

    Its $50 Canadian at Walmart for the gold one. Might get it. On the box it say 120 games. Probably only play a dozen that ,I like. But it’s cool to play some of the stuff that you never played before.

  26. r g on December 6, 2020 at 10:02 pm

    1:45 Original paddles do not work properly. They are way too sensitive. You’ll need to mod the controller to get it to work correctly.

  27. Melissa Gunnarson on December 6, 2020 at 10:03 pm

    Excuse me but where is Pac-Man that is very upsetting

  28. Potterhead on December 6, 2020 at 10:04 pm

    I got it at Sam’s club for $30 today.

  29. The Craig House on December 6, 2020 at 10:04 pm

    My girls just received this as an early xmas gift. Funny thing is it does not have an HDMI, yellow and white plugs only, interface is different and both controllers have all the buttons and the manual is a booklet. I had to double check, but it’s the same box, flashback 9, 110 games. Are they different for selling regions?

  30. Lee Kersey on December 6, 2020 at 10:05 pm

    John, What can you recommend for this: I Want a game console with large joystick and buttons (sturdy) instead of using the joystick that comes with the atari 9. Do they make a console? kinda like a pandoras box console? I love your channel and look forward to your recommendation.

  31. totallyfrozen on December 6, 2020 at 10:06 pm

    What’s up with the audio? Frogger had sound but the first 2 games you played did not. At least I couldn’t hear it. I bought a little AtGames system at Walmart and returned it because it did not have sound either. Is something wrong with this system too?

  32. The Can80an on December 6, 2020 at 10:08 pm

    I just got one this morning. Identical box but there’s no HDMI port on it and the user interface is totally different. It came with non-removable AV cables and the picture is garbage with them.

  33. ArcadeMAD on December 6, 2020 at 10:08 pm

    i tried a demo of this at a local shop and the joysticks felt really light and cheap

  34. Roger Kittner on December 6, 2020 at 10:10 pm

    Just picked one up for $11.00

  35. Biddrick Bidmen on December 6, 2020 at 10:10 pm

    They probably didn’t include the hdmi cable so it could be at the $45 mark.

  36. Picverse on December 6, 2020 at 10:11 pm

    Which one do u like better, the flashback 9 Gold or the regular? The wired controller is awesome in my opinion and it being cheaper is a win-win! I just wonder if there is an SD slot is the HD Gold version even worth it?

  37. rabidmarmot on December 6, 2020 at 10:12 pm

    chill about the lack of a hdmi cable, everyone already has one and an extra one would just be wasted

  38. Worm is Hot on December 6, 2020 at 10:14 pm

    I have the same one

  39. Matt H on December 6, 2020 at 10:14 pm

    I have this exact console. But mine has no HDMI port instead has an A/V cable coming from the back of the console . It was a Family Dollar edition

  40. T Peezy on December 6, 2020 at 10:15 pm

    Are instructions included on screen for each game? I don’t remember how to play all of those games, lol

  41. Aaron Valerio on December 6, 2020 at 10:16 pm

    Is the pingpong game still there? That was my favorite one to play.

  42. Michael Kline on December 6, 2020 at 10:17 pm

    I bought one for $40 and I’m happy with it. The exclusion of the HDMI cable was no big deal for me. I already had one ready to go.

  43. Jackson Osterbind on December 6, 2020 at 10:18 pm

    Thx for yet another good video because of this vid I bought one

  44. acmecompany on December 6, 2020 at 10:18 pm

    Do the games have audio? I don’t hear any audio

  45. splitshot71 on December 6, 2020 at 10:20 pm

    No paddles? So no super breakout? I gotta have super breakout.

  46. Tee Remraf on December 6, 2020 at 10:21 pm

    In the instruction sheet: when you open it up and look at the bottom left side, it says HDMI included.

  47. Grungy Perry on December 6, 2020 at 10:23 pm

    I’m waiting for mine in the mail! Once I get this I’ll have all the mini consoles til the Sega Genesis Mini.

  48. JOE IS DRIVIN SUNNY FLORIDA on December 6, 2020 at 10:31 pm

    Does it come with combat? 🤔😀

  49. my toys and stuff Just for fun on December 6, 2020 at 10:34 pm

    Min is a $100 you got a good deal

  50. Subsonic Smoke on December 6, 2020 at 10:34 pm

    Ive only seen the first game and i already see heaps of glitching

Leave a Comment