8bitdo USB Wireless Adapter Review- PS4 / Xbox One Controller on Switch!

Buy it on Amazon – http://lon.tv/nv2r0 (affiliate link) – 8BitDo has a handy little $20 adapter that allows a PS4 controller to work on a Nintendo Switch with full motion controls! Other controllers work too and it adds some useful x-input compatibility on PC. See more game controllers – http://lon.tv/gamecon and subscribe! http://lon.tv/s

VIDEO INDEX:
01:06 – Hardware overview
01:16 – Using a PS4 controller to a Nintendo Switch
01:47 – PS4 dualshock motion controls on Switch
02:28 – Won’t wake switch from sleep
02:51 – Switch settings for the USB receiver
03:41 – Controller compatibility
04:02 – Use Xbox One Controller on Switch
04:41 – Input lag on Switch
05:33 – PS3 Controller Pairing process
06:11 – Only one controller at a time
06:28 – PC and Xinput compatibility
07:20 – PC input lag
07:42 – PC controller compatibility
08:33 – Android / Shield TV / Raspberry Pi / MAc
09:04 – Conclusion and final thoughts

The adapter only supports one controller at a time unfortunately. But it does add a lot of value for Nintendo Switch owners as it makes it possible to use PS4, Xbox One, Wii, and Wii U controllers with few compromises. The motion controls only work on the PS4 controller, however.

PC support is useful especially for those looking to map a PS4 controller to X-input. The dongle does that mapping without any additional drivers required.

See the latest compatibility in the support manual here:

http://download.8bitdo.com/Manual/Receiver/usb_adapter/8Bitdo_USB_RR_Manual.pdf

Subscribe to my email list to get a weekly digest of upcoming videos! – http://lon.tv/email

See my second channel for supplementary content : http://lon.tv/extras

Visit the Lon.TV store to purchase some of my previously reviewed items! http://lon.tv/store

Read more about my transparency and disclaimers: http://lon.tv/disclosures

Want to chat with other fans of the channel? Visit our forums! http://lon.tv/forums

Want to help the channel? Start a Member subscription or give a one time tip!
http://lon.tv/support

or contribute via Venmo!
lon@lon.tv

Follow me on Facebook!
http://facebook.com/lonreviewstech

Follow me on Twitter!

Catch my longer interviews in audio form on my podcast!
http://lon.tv/itunes
http://lon.tv/stitcher
or the feed at http://lon.tv/podcast/feed.xml

Follow me on Google+
http://lonseidman.com

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

50 Comments

  1. Juice and Trippie on April 7, 2020 at 5:24 pm

    Does It not work for anyone else

  2. Eggman on April 7, 2020 at 5:25 pm

    Would this detect the travel of the analog triggers on an xbox one controller if I want to play a game like GRID Autosport?

  3. Jared Shoemaker on April 7, 2020 at 5:27 pm

    Does this dongle work on a PS3 system??? I’d love to play PS2 games on my PS3 with my Dualshock 4, but the controller has to be wired to play them.

  4. Edgar Mendez on April 7, 2020 at 5:28 pm

    what if i wanted to use the switch pro controller on the ps4 to play modern warfare…is it possible with this adapter?

  5. KTA Reyes on April 7, 2020 at 5:29 pm

    Hey I have a question which one would be better in terms of less controller lag this one you are showing or the MayFlash Magic NS? Cause I am unsure which one to buy.

  6. Serendipity on April 7, 2020 at 5:30 pm

    How many 8bitdo adapter I can plug while in dock mode?

  7. Jormungandr • world serpent on April 7, 2020 at 5:32 pm

    Bruh you’re making me nostalgic in 2019

  8. Samarth Sharma on April 7, 2020 at 5:36 pm

    Can you use the joy cons and another controller at the same time?

  9. Calamity Jane on April 7, 2020 at 5:38 pm

    Does it work with the xbox one 1st gen controller?

  10. xzero l زيرو on April 7, 2020 at 5:39 pm

    Ty so much

  11. Bla Bla on April 7, 2020 at 5:40 pm

    range test?

  12. index on April 7, 2020 at 5:42 pm

    Can i use multiple Wii Mote controllers at the same time with this adapter?

  13. IlovemyJesus490 on April 7, 2020 at 5:42 pm

    Can I use this on a pc and a power a wireless GameCube controller?

  14. Erick Suminto on April 7, 2020 at 5:45 pm

    Can i use the xbox adaptor to connect xbox controller?

  15. Polo on April 7, 2020 at 5:46 pm

    Can i use this undocked AND charge the switch at the same time?

  16. Malcolm Gardner on April 7, 2020 at 5:46 pm

    You’re a beautiful person thank youuuuu

  17. Trystan Price on April 7, 2020 at 5:48 pm

    I tried on a raspberry pie just broke it

  18. MrSilverfish4421 on April 7, 2020 at 5:50 pm

    Hi Lon, Just wondering if this dongle fixes the issue we have with using Xinput on windows 7? Currently if you set the controller to xinput mode on any 8bitdo controller and connect via usb, all is well.. however, if connected via bluetooth it doesn’t work at all.. Do you know if this adapter will act like a wired connection as far as windows is concerned but link wirelessly with the controller? I use SN30Pro+ and SF30 pro controllers..

  19. is_this_a_Name ? on April 7, 2020 at 5:50 pm

    will it work with a xbox elite controller?

  20. Seavon Scott on April 7, 2020 at 5:50 pm

    Will vibration be supported on the PS4 controller if I have this adapter plugged in to the Nvidia Shield TV.

  21. James Lillis on April 7, 2020 at 5:52 pm

    Can I use this to connect a Bluetooth headset?

  22. Tyla McCall on April 7, 2020 at 5:53 pm

    can you connect multiple controllers at once? (e.g ps4 and a xbox)

  23. Jirou Lierge on April 7, 2020 at 5:53 pm

    Just ordered one. Hope it words.

  24. ДЙDЯÉ 2D on April 7, 2020 at 5:53 pm

    Can i just use 1 controller?

  25. Bryson Thiel on April 7, 2020 at 5:54 pm

    Search it on wish

  26. GalaxyGaming1324 on April 7, 2020 at 5:55 pm

    I’m getting this thing instead of wasting money on a pro controller

  27. Dutchvideofuk on April 7, 2020 at 5:55 pm

    Can you use 4 ps4 controllers with 4 8bit usb With a 4 port usb splitter?

  28. Antonio Ferrusquilla on April 7, 2020 at 5:56 pm

    Does one 8bitdo support multiple controllers or just one?

  29. Do Mo on April 7, 2020 at 5:56 pm

    Why does this feel like the early 90s on my grandads old tv

  30. Buuson Hang on April 7, 2020 at 5:58 pm

    can you use with the xbox 360 controller pls reply

  31. Daniel Donnici on April 7, 2020 at 5:59 pm

    Hey, do you know if i can use Chronux MAx to do a programmable rapid fire?

  32. Fernando Casillas Jr on April 7, 2020 at 6:00 pm

    If you have the brick orange version you can flash the gray PlayStation Classic version firmware v1.28. Doing this will allow use with Nintendo Switch, Xinput (PC, Android), Dinput (PS3, PC, Android), Mac OS, and PlayStation Classic. While the Nvidia Shield TV supports DualShock 4 controllers natively, this device can be used on the Xiaomi Mi Box (original and S). I recommend Xinput mode on PC and Android.

  33. Shriya Shah on April 7, 2020 at 6:01 pm

    I bought the 8bitdo and hooked up my PS4 controller to it but for some reason it only connects to PS4 controller when it’s charging, anyone have any solution??

  34. Johnny Perez on April 7, 2020 at 6:01 pm

    Is this still usable on current Switch Firmware?

  35. Sean Harris on April 7, 2020 at 6:01 pm

    Could i use this on myandroid tv box to connect my xbox controller for the official game streaming app?my android box doesnt have bluetooth and the app needs a controller connected through bluetooth.

  36. Ishim Tenorio on April 7, 2020 at 6:01 pm

    You can only connect 1 controller at a time to the 8bitdo dongle?

  37. Mster129 on April 7, 2020 at 6:05 pm

    If I connected this to my Wii U could I connect my pro controller to it and play some smash 4?

  38. Benjo Auza on April 7, 2020 at 6:06 pm

    Great review!

  39. Type 0 on April 7, 2020 at 6:07 pm

    Man do you have any advice on how to make the dongle not disconnect on my pc ? I can play it on my Switch for hours and hours, but everytime I try the dongle on my pc it starts loading some drivers but give me an error message saying the dongle was disconnected even dongle it’s powered up and blinking on my pc.

  40. Caleb aiken on April 7, 2020 at 6:08 pm

    Can u hook up multiple to one dongle? Looking into getting one for smash bros

  41. Fabricio Aguirre on April 7, 2020 at 6:08 pm

    Does it work with the nacon revolution unlimited too?

  42. Kyle Hargrave on April 7, 2020 at 6:12 pm

    Hi Lon,

    Thanks for all of the great tech videos you do.

    I am looking for some help in using this 8Bitdo USB adapter for my Samsung TV w/ XBOX One S controller. TV is pre 2018 (after apparently works natively) but it does have BT! Go figure anyways here is my Issue:

    I bought this to use Steam link app on Samsung TV with Xbox one controller. I found online that advised to pair adapter with Windows first. I can not get it to work with windows. I can install the USB adapter and pair with controller (does show in device manager, Win10 Pro) but does not work with local games as it does not recognize controller as installed in Windows. Verified using the gamepad app you showed in this video. Does not show up.

    Steam app on Windows will see controller but it is not mapped correctly and I can not get the mapping tool to work right. 

    When I plug adapter into the Samsung TV it works but will not launch the app and when in Steamlink, it does not see it once Steam remote play is launched.

    I have tried several different versions of the firmware from 1.28 down to 1.18.

    Please help!

  43. Pyrex on April 7, 2020 at 6:14 pm

    Wait how did u get the controls to switch to PS4 controls ?? U pressed X on the PS4 controller and it registered as “A” on the Switch? Does this adapter convert to PS4 controls ??

    Example: 1:42

  44. Francesco Quaker on April 7, 2020 at 6:16 pm

    Is the grey model looking the same identical? It says for PS Classic Edition but also for Switch, is there any kind of difference between the two?
    Also, should i buy from Bitdo or resellers on amazon are fine too

  45. Dan A on April 7, 2020 at 6:17 pm

    If you’re PC owner with PS4 Controller, dont buy this. It doesnt work corretly. I upgrade the firmware, and made a little settings here and there for 5 hours and still doesn’t work. I ended up using usb cable…

  46. Aoi2012 on April 7, 2020 at 6:17 pm

    Wow, video starts and already a big spoiler for Mario.

  47. Samzilla on April 7, 2020 at 6:19 pm

    When you sync up the PS4 controller to the 8bitdo can you then use the same controller for your PS4 without having to re-sync to the PlayStation. For example when you grab the PS4 controller and press the PS button it turns on your PlayStation would that still he the case or would you have to repair it to the ps4, thanks

  48. greek on April 7, 2020 at 6:19 pm

    Does the headset work for xbox ?

  49. EatYOuRNuGGeT on April 7, 2020 at 6:20 pm

    Terrible product. All my controllers work for 30sec and then turn off. It doesn’t work

  50. c l o u d m i s t on April 7, 2020 at 6:22 pm

    My PS4 controller connects but it doesn’t move or pick games HELPP!!

Leave a Comment